SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Evening guys,

I'm a newbie here and am after some advice, and picking your knowledge.

I've found this Monte Carlo Yellow 4 door 2000 Viggen for sale and am wondering if it belongs/belonged to any of the owners here, or if any of you know it's history.

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail.jsp?paId=240188604

The 'free' carfax report makes mention of the following:

03/21/2005

Florida
Police Report
Case# 73177092

Accident reported
in Leon County
Involving left front impact
with a fixed object
Vehicle functional
Vehicle towed

So I'm a little apprehensive, and am seeing what info I can dig up prior to contacting the dealer and placing a deposit.

I'm in Seattle so I'll have to get it shipped across the country, and inspecting it is almost out of the question.

If any of you guys know anything about it, and if it is indeed a genuine Monte Carlo (I figure a full re-spray may be a little extreme for what reads like a potentially minor incident hopefully it was only body work that was repaired) I'll go ahead and buy it.

·
Registered
803 Posts
The LF fender is a shade brighter than the rest of the car. The panel gaps look good in the photo, though.
Just because a car was in an accident doesn't mean it's junk. Check all the panel gaps, drive it and see if it tracks straight, look underneath for anything that looks off. Panel gaps are the biggest indication of the quality of the body work. If the panel gaps are good then chances are the car's fine.

·
Registered
203 Posts
G96nt said:
Isn't 12k kind of steep for a 2k viggen of ANY color?
Hopefully this is not the case, I bought my Viggen 2 years ago, paid a bit more than 12k for it, I'd like to think that it's holding it's value a bit better than that, but possibly I'm wrong.

jerel

·
Registered
10,348 Posts
G96nt said:
No way. There are probably less then 50 MC Yellow Viggens still on the road. These cars are holding thier value.