SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Just got myself a 2002 9-5 linear 5-speed a couple weeks ago, my first Saab. Love the car so far but of course it's not perfect. Essentially the situation is that I thought I was buying a decent example that was pretty well looked after, but that hasn't turned out to be the case. I am not too experienced when it comes to hands-on work, but I know my way around a car. Anyway...

I've gotten a lot of helpful information from this site, which has been great, but I thought I'd start a discussion in case anyone has helpful info specific to my situation. So I noticed oil leaking on the driveway shortly after getting car, but there was no single point I could identify where it was coming from. Plus, there's oil residue on most of the engine bay underneath the intake, on the timing belt, under ps reservoir (previous owner said there could be a ps leak), and some other hard to see places. Should have noticed it before buying but didn't. Did some reading on common oil leaks and there are several. So instead of going through and fixing each one I tested some things first. Did the glove test to find excessive crank pressure (fills the glove up very quickly on startup). Decided I would change the PCV system to make sure that was up to date. Well that didn't solve the issue. So that means an issue with pistons or rings (blow-by), correct? I'm not experiencing any smoke out of the exhaust but there is a burning smell in the cabin almost immediately on startup, along with smoke coming from the intake side of the engine and the oil filler tube (though not a lot). Also, there doesn't appear to be any loss of power and turbo seems to be working normally.

Basically I want to find the biggest possible issue and work down from there. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,739 Posts