SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all
Ok I have a strange problem with my 9-5. My oil pressure light flickers only after the engine is "warmed" up. It mostly happens after driving on the autobahn (that's highway in english LOL) and I stop. Once the engine speed drops below about 900 RPM. There seems to be something dragging the engine down. I'm leaning to the direction of an electrical issue. Once the car is parked and the light goes out it will come back on if, I turn the wheel or use an electrical item ie; windows, turn on the heater etc.
I'm a mechanic myself however this car is interesting to work on. I don't have any diagnostic tools of my own so I've had it in a few shops. They never found the problem. Anyone have any experience or ideas???
Steve

·
Registered
230 Posts
The threshhold for the oil light to come on is very low. Something like 6-8 psi. Are you aware of the sludge issue with this engine? (I'm presuming you have the 2.3t.) Drop the oil sump immediately and check for sludge. The oil strainer is probably clogged and hence no oil pressure. I would not drive the car until checked!

If you need more info search for "sludge" and read the endless number of threads!

Have you checked the oil pressure sensor itself? They are a very inexpensive part $18 US.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
809 Posts
Sensor

Hi,may be the oil pressure sensor wire makes short cut somewhere-the sensor is on the back side of the engine somewhere behind the alternator if I'm remember correct.
I guess that you've checked the oil level and it is ok.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys
The sludge I'll check on right away. As a matter of fact the PCV was blocked last year and I had alot of water contamination in the oil. I changed the oil about every 200 miles for a month or so. Then ran engine cleaner in the system the last oil change.
I've been thinking on the oil sensor too. So now I'll look at it too.