SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Saabs and a new owner of a 1990 Turbo. I am in MA and finding one rust free was my goal and ended up finding this car in Vermont. It was owned by a Saab enthusiast and originally came from Arizona being stored during the Vermont Winters. The car came with all of its original owner's manuals, a complete tool kit, original spare and the hard plastic tonneau cover.

First things I did was:
  • New Water pump
  • Flushed the cooling system and replaced with Zerex G05 coolant
  • New heater control valve
  • New alternator
  • New plugs, cap and rotor. The leads were fairly new and tested fine
  • All new belts
  • Oil and filter change
  • New air filter
  • New battery
  • New wiper stalk. The washer function wasn't working
  • Rebuilt/calibrated APC from Swedish Designs
The car is/was white with red interior. That has since been changed. I gutted the interior and changed everything over to a black interior. I dyed tan carpets I sourced from my local pick and pull black and used a leather dye on the leather portion of the door panels and SEM ColorCoat on the other pieces like the under dash. I made custom door card inserts and rear speaker covers and added fold down cup holders out of a Mercedes W124 wagon. By far the best cup holders you can find, IMHO. I recovered the non powered seat in new black leather from Lseat.com and ordered Coco Mats to protect the newly dyed carpet. The car came with a red hard plastic tonneau cover and I recolored this black as well to match the overall black scheme. Swapped in a crack free dash and perfect facia. Refurbished wheels and new tires.

Still to do:
  • Fix in-op power antenna. I hear it trying to go up and down, so maybe just a new past
  • Still need to recover the back seats in the new leather
  • Buy and have installed a new top and headliner
  • Investigate a few leaks here and there