SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I want to replace the O2 sensor on my 1984 Saab 900s (not a turbo) and just want to confirm that there's only one.

I'm not a mechanic but I do have ramps and it sounds like a relatively simple thing to do. I already figured out how to reset the button that set off the EXH light in the first place. I know! I shouldn't have done this until after, but there I was, excited to have found it (went in through left speaker panel) and then just pushing the button like an idiot.

Also, I have a 16.6 gallon tank but have never been able to put more than about 12 gallons in. I know the tank was actually empty once (not just because of the flashing gas light) because the car was literally sputtering and I rolled into the gas station on fumes. (Wanted to see how far I could go once light came on. Not very, as it turned out.)

So:

1. Is there just one O2 sensor, and am I ok to replace it myself?
2. Why such a discrepancy with gas tank capacity? Air pockets? Other?

I'm guessing that these two questions could be intimately related.

Thanks much.

·
Registered
7,087 Posts
UK cars did'nt have O2 on them as far as I was aware that early, but USA might, as had different emission laws but never heard of one on an 8V but everything was different to the 16v but if it's an early 16v it will be on the top side of the down pipe(uk is) just before cat
Your fuel tank is (14UK gallon)=16.8 USA gallon,there is usually about 1.5ish(UKgall) left when yellow light on permanently, so if you run out it's basically your fault, as it warns you early enough when getting close, and running it dry may cause the pump to fail prematurely.