SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to the 9-2X (as in haven't even taken possesion yet).
We want to put some new wheels and tires on it.
It's an Aero w/ the 16s and 50 series.

Doing some looking, 18s and tires will be about the same cost as 17s.
I was looking at the Konig Reasons w/ a 215-40R18 Yokohama or G-Force BFG.

Are there any recommendations to stay at a 17 or are 18s fine?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Just realize you'll be sacrificing acceleration and braking, and probably handling to a degree. As well as ride quality.

You are adding substantial weight further away from the hub, thereby slowing you down accelerating and making it harder to stop....and you are increasing your "gearing" as your wheel/tire height is increasing.

Your suspension isn't made to handle the extra unsprung weight and aspects, so those won't work the way they were supposed too....

And, your sacrificing ride quality due to very thin stiff rubber. Also, your wheels will be more likely to get bent up over 30-50k...

All this for what, looks?

Why not save yourself some money and just go with 17" wheels and tires. Plus one tire sizing typically gets you the best of all worlds, and we already know the 9-2x was built for the 17" 215/45 tire/wheel combo.

Good luck in your choices.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I know how added unsprung weight and rotational mass affects accelaration, and braking. But seriously...an 18" wheel and tire combo is NOT a bad thing on this car. Particularly with 225/40-18 tires.

Overall diameter of the wheel/tire will not change. Gearing will be unaffected.

A larger contact patch is never a bad thing. A shorter/stiffer sidewall is GOOD for handling. It's better, not worse. If you get good quality wheels you'll have to do do some serious curb bashing to bend them. And, also, if you get a good quality wheel it will be lighter in 18" than the stock 16" wheels.