SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi friends. I've been searching around for a tierod end replacement walkthrough, as i've never done one before. I understand this is novice DIY work, but was hoping someone might point me toward a step-by-step to make the process go more smoothly.

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,293 Posts
Just did it on my 03 simple

Jack car
Remove tire
Loosen nut that retains to the inner( only back it ust of, you can use it to "eye" up where the new rod shoudl go)
Remove nut on the tie rod pin in the axel
Use a screw driver ( or tie rod fork- its worth the $15 investment) to pry the joint off the hub
Take it off.
Put the new on on, back it up to the same position as the old one.
Tghten the nut on to fix the tie rod
Tighten the nut on the rod in the hub, you may ned to press down hard so it does nto turn while you do this.
TIghten to 75 ft bls.

Align car - it wil be out ad depending on the new end it coudl be way out.

www.fixmysaab.com has pics

I got my ends at rock auto, check my thread they were 8 bucks each plus 8 to ship a bargain ( get 2, your other is probably bad too and since you will pay to get it aligned and buy/borrow the fork, do them both and be done with it.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Corrosion...

Great, thanks for that info.

Ended up cutting the lock nut off, as it was totally seized.

Now, the tie rod end is seized to the inner tie rod (i think this is actually common in VT with the state trucks turning the highways into salty rivers during winter).

For you northerners out there, can I remove the seized TRE, or should I replace the WHOLE tierod assembly?

And... is it difficult to replace the inner tie rod?

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,293 Posts
Great, thanks for that info.

Ended up cutting the lock nut off, as it was totally seized.