Swapping ECU's - SaabCentral Forums
*
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum


Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab Ownership General Topics > Tech II Workshop

Notices

Tech II Workshop For all discussions regarding the Tech II onboard diagnostics tool.

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
hunterstein555 hunterstein555 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2015                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2002 9-5, 1999 9-3 vert
Posts: 333
Default Swapping ECU's

Hi

Just wanted to make sure I can swap in the ECU from a 2002 9-5 manual trans to a 2002 9-5 auto trans (with a faulty ECU), and if it's still as simple as entering the new immobilizer / VIN whatever

A couple tuners want $150 to do this for me, I'm half tempted to watch a bunch of youtube tutorials and buy a tech 2 clone already and do it myself since I need other Tech 2 stuff done to my other car as well

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
EdT EdT is offline
Saab on the Brain!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011                                                
Location: Toronto
My Saabs: 1997 900S Coupé, 2003 9-5 Linear Wagon
Posts: 7,487
Default

You have Tech II and TIS? I suspect that you will have to program the ECU. At the very least, it will need configuring.


Everything I've read indicates that the ECUs physically swap over. It's getting the right software on them that's the work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
smokiebeverage smokiebeverage is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019                                                
Location: Ireland
My Saabs: 08 93 1.8t
Posts: 34
Default

Have to considered https://txsuite.org/download/trionic-can-flasher/ and a $25 cable to clone the ECU
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
summerof96's Avatar
summerof96 summerof96 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Jun 2015                                                
Location: Tacoma, WA
My Saabs: ‘67 96, ‘02 9³ SE, ‘07 9³ SC, ‘11 9&#830
Posts: 365
Garage
Default

Yes, you can just marry the replacement ECM without programming it. The bin on the ECM won’t change unless you SPS. The TCM controls the auto trans.

Diagnostic - 2002 - 9-5 - Body - TWICE - Programming
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
jvanabra jvanabra is online now
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004                                                
Location: California
My Saabs: LOTS. :)
Posts: 3,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokiebeverage View Post
Have to considered https://txsuite.org/download/trionic-can-flasher/ and a $25 cable to clone the ECU
This is a great solution if the current ECM is readable! Although, $25 isn't the full story - you still need a power supply, some wire, a J1962 connector, and the OBDLink SX cable. Still, a lot cheaper than shop time or a Tech II.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
smokiebeverage smokiebeverage is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019                                                
Location: Ireland
My Saabs: 08 93 1.8t
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanabra View Post
This is a great solution if the current ECM is readable! Although, $25 isn't the full story - you still need a power supply, some wire, a J1962 connector, and the OBDLink SX cable. Still, a lot cheaper than shop time or a Tech II.
For a once off you can just do it in the car, no need to make any cables, just make sure the battery is fully charged or has a charger connected. Then all you need is the ODBLink which are around the $30 mark now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
jvanabra jvanabra is online now
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004                                                
Location: California
My Saabs: LOTS. :)
Posts: 3,416
Default

Not sure how that could work. The OG9-3 does not have CAN at the OBDII connector, you need to intercept it at the connector behind the glove box and get it to the OBDII connector in order to use the OBDLink cable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
smokiebeverage smokiebeverage is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019                                                
Location: Ireland
My Saabs: 08 93 1.8t
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanabra View Post
Not sure how that could work. The OG9-3 does not have CAN at the OBDII connector, you need to intercept it at the connector behind the glove box and get it to the OBDII connector in order to use the OBDLink cable.
I might be needing new glasses missed the model in the first post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
hunterstein555 hunterstein555 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2015                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2002 9-5, 1999 9-3 vert
Posts: 333
Default

This is for a 9-5 2002

You guys are saying I can do this without a tech 2?? Anyone have a link to somewhere with a little more detail on this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
summerof96's Avatar
summerof96 summerof96 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Jun 2015                                                
Location: Tacoma, WA
My Saabs: ‘67 96, ‘02 9³ SE, ‘07 9³ SC, ‘11 9&#830
Posts: 365
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanabra View Post
Not sure how that could work. The OG9-3 does not have CAN at the OBDII connector, you need to intercept it at the connector behind the glove box and get it to the OBDII connector in order to use the OBDLink cable.


This is true.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
smokiebeverage smokiebeverage is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019                                                
Location: Ireland
My Saabs: 08 93 1.8t
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hunterstein555 View Post
This is for a 9-5 2002

You guys are saying I can do this without a tech 2?? Anyone have a link to somewhere with a little more detail on this?
Have a look at https://www.trionictuning.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=40 you will need to make an account, but all of the information can be got from the T7 section with a bit of reading around.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 3 Hours Ago
hunterstein555 hunterstein555 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2015                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2002 9-5, 1999 9-3 vert
Posts: 333
Default

So I actually own a Tech 2 now, and I understand 'the basics'

Anyone have some advice on how to go about swapping ECU's with it? I posted on the Trionic forums about using an OBDLink but got no replies

The one thing I'm concerned about is the ECU I'm putting in is from a manual '02 linear and it's going in to an automatic '02 linear

Last edited by hunterstein555; 3 Hours Ago at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 2 Hours Ago
Mimmi's Avatar
Mimmi Mimmi is offline
Saab on the Brain!
 
Join Date: Oct 2009                                                
Location: Finland, Europe
My Saabs: Hirsch fleet: 2*9-5 + 9-3
Posts: 5,133
Default

In exchange of those ECUs, you only need to reprogram IMMO code.
__________________
Sorry, but I am not mind reader, so I just answer questions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old 1 Hour Ago
hunterstein555 hunterstein555 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2015                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2002 9-5, 1999 9-3 vert
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mimmi View Post
In exchange of those ECUs, you only need to reprogram IMMO code.
How do I do that exactly? By plugging in to my computer and editing the code somehow, or can it be done by just putting in the new ECU and clicking "Immobilizer" under TWICE?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old 19 Minutes Ago
EdT EdT is offline
Saab on the Brain!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011                                                
Location: Toronto
My Saabs: 1997 900S Coupé, 2003 9-5 Linear Wagon
Posts: 7,487
Default

I hope to try this soon. This ought to cover it if the ECU is otherwise suitable:



https://saabwisonline.com/c6/9-5/200...yl/to-fit-108/



Personally, I plan to do an SPS update for the spare ECU I have, then go through the immobilizer programming.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SaabCentral Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

top of page | sitemap | email us



copyright © 2003 - 2011 saabcentral.com, All rights reserved http://www.whiter.co.uk - valid xhtml - valid css
SaabCentral is an independently run website and is not affiliated in any way to Saab Automobile AB.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.