9-3 SS Program ECM From Arc/Aero to Linear - SaabCentral Forums
*
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum


Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab Ownership General Topics > Tech II Workshop

Notices

Tech II Workshop For all discussions regarding the Tech II onboard diagnostics tool.

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th August 2015
falcon21's Avatar
falcon21 falcon21 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2011                                                
Location: Wisconsin
My Saabs: 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear
Posts: 2,128
Default 9-3 SS Program ECM From Arc/Aero to Linear

So I picked up an ECM from an Arc/Aero and married it to my car. I need to reprogram it for a Linear. Since it is already married to my car and I have another ECM married how should I go about this? Can I update it or do I have to divorce and re-add it using GlobalTIS? If I divorce it will it only divorce the ECM that is connected or will both be divorced?

My plan is to run the new ECM to make sure it is all good and then it is getting a flash next month.
__________________
■ 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear ■
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 30th August 2015
SethB SethB is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2013                                                
Location: PA
My Saabs: 2003 Saab 9-3 2.0 Turbo Arc
Posts: 938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon21 View Post
So I picked up an ECM from an Arc/Aero and married it to my car. I need to reprogram it for a Linear. Since it is already married to my car and I have another ECM married how should I go about this? Can I update it or do I have to divorce and re-add it using GlobalTIS? If I divorce it will it only divorce the ECM that is connected or will both be divorced?

My plan is to run the new ECM to make sure it is all good and then it is getting a flash next month.
Can't you flash it with SPS Programming from the Tech 2?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 30th August 2015
Djfremen's Avatar
Djfremen Djfremen is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Jan 2011                                                
Location: Seattle, WA
My Saabs: TECH2- 2x '04 9-3 Arc - 1x '07 9-3 Arc
Posts: 531
Default

Divorce doesn't apply to 2003+

When you add multiple it will ask if it was replaced - just say no to have two bound to the same VIN number. I ran through the entire process on the how-to thread.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 30th August 2015
falcon21's Avatar
falcon21 falcon21 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2011                                                
Location: Wisconsin
My Saabs: 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear
Posts: 2,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SethB View Post
Can't you flash it with SPS Programming from the Tech 2?
How would I do this? If I select SPS Programming on the Tech2 it just freezes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djfremen View Post
Divorce doesn't apply to 2003+

When you add multiple it will ask if it was replaced - just say no to have two bound to the same VIN number. I ran through the entire process on the how-to thread.
Both ECM's are currently married to the car. Your process describes how to reprogram it when initially adding it to the car. Can I remove just that one ECM without removing the original one?
__________________
■ 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear ■
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 30th August 2015
Djfremen's Avatar
Djfremen Djfremen is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Jan 2011                                                
Location: Seattle, WA
My Saabs: TECH2- 2x '04 9-3 Arc - 1x '07 9-3 Arc
Posts: 531
Default 9-3 SS Program ECM From Arc/Aero to Linear

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon21 View Post
How would I do this? If I select SPS Programming on the Tech2 it just freezes. Can I remove just that one ECM without removing the original one?

You're never going to get SPS to work via the Tech2. It's run through GlobalTIS via serial connection and then legacy pass-thru to the Tech2 (never had luck with TIS2000).

I'm confused how you're phrasing the question... Remove from the vehicle physically or remove from the car via adding another VIN? Since there's no divorce, adding the ECM to a different vehicle is like a divorce, since it just adds a different VIN. The word divorce should only be applied to DICE.

Real World Example:

Take ECM1 out, send to tuner.
Put ECM2 in and program to car.
ECM1 comes back from tuner, swap and drive.

Last edited by Djfremen; 30th August 2015 at 04:56 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 30th August 2015
falcon21's Avatar
falcon21 falcon21 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2011                                                
Location: Wisconsin
My Saabs: 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear
Posts: 2,128
Default

Ok let me break this down lol:
ECM1 - Original ECM currently in car
ECM2 - New ECM with Arc/Aero Programming

Both are currently married to the car. I need to reprogram ECM2 so it has the Linear software. How should I go about this seeing as I already married it to the car? Should I just go through the process of adding it again and use GlobalTIS to SPS it? Will this effect ECM1 as both ECM slots are currently filled?
__________________
■ 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear ■
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 30th August 2015
falcon21's Avatar
falcon21 falcon21 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2011                                                
Location: Wisconsin
My Saabs: 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear
Posts: 2,128
Default

I'm getting stuck where I need to request info under the SPS menu in the tech2, it just freezes on me.
__________________
■ 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear ■
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 30th August 2015
falcon21's Avatar
falcon21 falcon21 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2011                                                
Location: Wisconsin
My Saabs: 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear
Posts: 2,128
Default

Ok I got it figured out and reprogrammed! Instead of using the Tech2 as remote I chose the legacy pass-thru option and everything worked fine.
__________________
■ 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear ■
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 25th May 2019
northernsaab northernsaab is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015                                                
Location: New Brunswick Canada
My Saabs: 2004 93 sedan, 2009 93XWD l
Posts: 44
Default

just reading through your post re the SPS I was having the same problem with my Tech II just freezing when select SPS. when you say you are using it as pass through I assume you are now using the TIS2000 and the Tech2 together? does the SPS item on the Tech2 work using this pass through option or are you just using the TIS2000?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 27th May 2019
dspargo's Avatar
dspargo dspargo is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2014                                                
Location: Massachusetts
My Saabs: 04 Aero SS, 05 Aero SS and 08 Aero SC
Posts: 1,215
Default

Try these out:

https://www.saabcentral.com/forums/s...d.php?t=719528
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 27th May 2019
EdT EdT is offline
Saab on the Brain!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011                                                
Location: Toronto
My Saabs: 1997 900S Coupé, 2003 9-5 Linear Wagon
Posts: 7,494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by northernsaab View Post
just reading through your post re the SPS I was having the same problem with my Tech II just freezing when select SPS. when you say you are using it as pass through I assume you are now using the TIS2000 and the Tech2 together? does the SPS item on the Tech2 work using this pass through option or are you just using the TIS2000?

The Tech II I have access to does the same thing: freezes if I select SPS from the main menu.


I did reprogram the ACC module via pass-through, but got an error right away trying to program the ECU. So I don't even know if the Tech II/TIS2000 would have a more up-to-date version of my ECU program.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 27th May 2019
smokiebeverage smokiebeverage is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019                                                
Location: Ireland
My Saabs: 08 93 1.8t
Posts: 35
Default

Hi,

Why not try clone your original ECM using Tronic CAN Flasher (https://www.trionictuning.com/forum/index.php) definitely quicker and easier
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SaabCentral Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
arc aero or linear noob question awcastellano 9-5 Workshop 5 6th August 2012 10:15 AM
Linear, Griffen, Viggen, Aero, Arc??? dmtinker The Lounge 11 7th January 2008 10:13 PM
Aero vs Victor vs Arc vs Linear afam109 SAAB Corporate News 2 15th December 2005 09:55 PM
How to tell between Linear and Arc/Aero SaabaruRS 9-3 Sedan, Convertible ('04+)/Combi & 9-3X Workshop - ALL Engines 7 12th December 2005 12:35 AM
A chance to trade up...linear to arc/aero darkh 9-3 Sedan, Convertible ('04+)/Combi & 9-3X Workshop - ALL Engines 17 7th May 2004 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

top of page | sitemap | email us



copyright © 2003 - 2011 saabcentral.com, All rights reserved http://www.whiter.co.uk - valid xhtml - valid css
SaabCentral is an independently run website and is not affiliated in any way to Saab Automobile AB.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.