Fantastic fuel economy increase! - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab C900, 1979-1993 & '94 Convertible (C=classic) > C900 Workshop

C900 Workshop Classic 900 (1979-1993 & '94 Convertible) Technical Forum.

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 19th April 2006
SaabNut!

Join Date: Feb 2004                                                
My Saabs: Classic 900 LPT/93 Sportwagon TTiD
Default Fantastic fuel economy increase!

I've been registering the MPG's for about the past 6 months. It's beed steadily increasing after various adjustments etc. : adjusting AMM, new plugs/leads and dizzy. New lambda/reset ECU and inflate tyres! It started at 20/22mpg and I got it to 24/26. (averaged, including all types of driving and conditions).
I decided to have the timing checked and it was out by 3 degress. At the same time as doing this I fitted a new 82 degree thermostat. The car was taking ages to reach op temp and I suspected it was holding the car on choke for too long.
The MPG's have jumped to 28/33! I'm getting 28 around town and 32/33 on the motorway.
Just a heads up really: if you're having poor economy and you've exhausted most other things, try the thermo and timing!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 19th April 2006
Saab Lunatic

Join Date: Sep 2004                                                
My Saabs: 1993 T16 (xLPT) - 1994 RUBY!!!

superb

guess i'll have to look at the same
cheers daniel

g

http://www.nicecupofteaandasitdown.com/

http://www.saabcentral.com/phpgallery/Gs-little-Saab
Old 19th April 2006
Saab Lunatic

Join Date: Jan 2006                                                
My Saabs: 1987 900 8V