cascading exhaust problems - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab C900, 1979-1993 & '94 Convertible (C=classic) > C900 Workshop

C900 Workshop Classic 900 (1979-1993 & '94 Convertible) Technical Forum.

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 28th February 2005

Join Date: Aug 2003                                                
Unhappy cascading exhaust problems

Please help. I've been running my '91 2dr 16v 900 for the last few months without a rear resonator. I'm a student, don't drive it very often, and was waiting for good weather to finish the installation. (In short i was procrastinating to save a few bucks )

This weekend i took my car for a long-ish trip to the ski hill 150km away. I was driving pretty fast (120-130 kph) and when i got off the freeway the ‘check engine’ light began blinking at low speeds. I didn't pay much attention it then, then a few kilometers later the light went away and running noise suddenly got a lot louder …

Up until then I had no problems with fumes inside the cabin; the noise and fumes were coming from the back end of the car. (For safety I have still been very careful to run with the windows wide open; this can be cold and noisy). After the incident the noise and fumes came from further up under the car (exhaust manifold - cat) and can be smelt in the cabin.

I'm now very worried. My hope is that the bolts fastening the cat have gotten loose; my fear is that I’ve cracked my manifold. I haven't gotten a good look yet; I’m honestly not exactly sure what to look for. What do you guys think? Could i have done any permanent damage as a direct result on running without a rear resonator?