Newbie with 99' 9-3 se that's want more boost - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab NG900, 1994-1998 and OG9-3, 1999-2002 & '03 Convertible (NG=new gen/OG=old gen) > NG900 & OG9-3 Performance, Mods & Tuning

NG900 & OG9-3 Performance, Mods & Tuning Covers Tuning & Performance modifications for the NG900 (1994 to 1998) & OG9-3 (1999-2002) & '03 Convertible

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 21st May 2004

Join Date: May 2004                                                
Default Newbie with 99' 9-3 se that's want more boost

Ok so I am really new to the Saab world and this is my first turbo. I have been reading everything I can to understand more about my car. Well I, just like everybody else, want more power. My car only boosts into the first 1/4 of the yellow. and no further. My friend "who is a mechanic" pulled a vacuum line from the wastegate to the intake and said drive it around the parking lot and see if it boosts further. Well of course it did. I hit the fuel cut off real quick. Lets just say I wasn't expecting it and now I have a bump on my forehead from the steering wheel. ... Well I put the vacuum line back on and he told me there is a way to adjust my boost to just before that level. So, I want to do that. But I don't know how... My questions are:

#1 I know I can adjust the APC, but I have now idea where it is in my car. Again 99' 9-3 se

#2 Having this set up to stop boost just before the the fuel cut off, a bad thing or not?

Thanks,

P.S. I am a DIY. I am mechanically inclined just never worked with any Turbos before. So your help would great... Also I love this site. There are a lot of very good topics and a lot of people that are willing to help other people out... Which is nice to see!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement