Poor Acceleration, Low Boost, Wont Rev Past 2k RPM - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab 9-5 Mk.I, 1998-2009 > 9-5 Workshop

9-5 Workshop 9-5 Workshop (1997 to 2010) Technical Forum

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 2nd March 2012

Join Date: Mar 2012                                                
My Saabs: 01 Saab 9-5
Default Poor Acceleration, Low Boost, Wont Rev Past 2k RPM

Hello everyone,

Ive been searching through this site since I got my Saab and have found it very useful, and now I decided to join.

I have recently purchased a 2001 Saab 9-5 2.3T sedan with 79k miles. I got it from the original owner who kept great care of it, had all work done at the dealership and has every service record from day 1.

I have been driving it now for nearly 3 months and love it, its quick, comfortable and just a sexy car. Today I was driving it for about 10 minutes without any issues. I was pulling onto the highway when all of a sudden I lost all power, the car turned into a snail. I noticed that I couldnt boost past halfway in the green, and that the car barely hit 2k RPM. If I kept pushing a little past 2k, the engine would all of sudden race, but still not boost.

Ive been searching and searching and have read multiple threads about low boost, and the little tests you can do to check things, but I havent solved my issue yet.

I do not have a CEL on, the car is not smoking, and I cannot see anything out of the ordinary. Its not in Limp Mode, not making any weird noises or anything.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Brady
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 4th March 2012

Join Date: May 2011                                                
My Saabs: 99 9-5 SE Turbo 2.3