Heater Core Removal and Replacement - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab NG900, 1994-1998 and OG9-3, 1999-2002 & '03 Convertible (NG=new gen/OG=old gen) > NG900 & OG9-3 Workshop

NG900 & OG9-3 Workshop NG900 (1994 to 1998) & OG9-3 (1999-2002) & '03 Convertible Technical Forum

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 8th February 2004
Saab Lunatic

Join Date: Sep 2002                                                
My Saabs: 1997 Saab 900S 2.3L
Default Heater Core Removal and Replacement

Hi, I'm new to this section of the forum, currently own an '86 900 but am in the market for a new car. So I went and test drove a '97 900S 5-dr. Noticed a sweet coolant smell and a fogging of the windows. My immediate thought is the heater core has gone bad. I'm wondering if anyone has had any experience replacing them and might be willing to give from detailed (or semi-detailed) directions for getting to the core. Also, where is it located on the NG900's? Are they still down the center of the dashboard?
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 8th February 2004
Saab on the Brain!

Join Date: Mar 2003                                                
My Saabs: 2006 9-7X 5.3i

Having replaced the hoses to the heater core, I would say that your assessment of its placement is correct.

As for instructions on how to replace the core itself .. sorry ... I don't have those.
Old 9th February 2004
Saab on the Brain!

Join Date: Sep 2003                                                
My Saabs: gone: '01 9-5 2.3t, 1997 900 SE turbo

Drat! While I was attempting to drain my transmission yesterday, I noticed the slightest bit of coolant coming out of the old drain pipe for the a/c-heater. Guess I better familiarize myself with the heater, too!
Old 9th February 2004
Saab on the Brain!