If heat is off, does coolant still flow through heater core? - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab C900, 1979-1993 & '94 Convertible (C=classic) > C900 Workshop

C900 Workshop Classic 900 (1979-1993 & '94 Convertible) Technical Forum.

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 26th December 2003

Join Date: Aug 2003                                                
Default If heat is off, does coolant still flow through heater core?

I was driving around today, and out of nowhere, my feet started slipping on the pedals. I pull into a parking lot, look down.....theres a small pool (~ a cup) of coolant on my drivers side mat. Now, I'm not too good at working on cars, but even I knew that was a bad sign. Called my friend (who knows cars much better than I), and took it to his house.

He said its probably the heater core leaking, and I should not be using the heat until he can fix it......then he thought for a second, and said I should ask everyone here on the board, when the heat is off (the fans are off, and the temp is turned all the way to cold), does coolant still flow through the heater core? BTW, its possible I butchered the question, so if it makes no sense, please say so
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 26th December 2003
Saab Lunatic

Join Date: Oct 2002                                                
My Saabs: 1992 900T 3dr

Hot coolant won't flow through it when the heater knob is off, but coolant will still sit in the heater core, and can still leak regardless.
Old 26th December 2003

Thanks for the quick response. Friend has another question

He wants to know if the coolant will be pressurised with the knob all the way cold... Basically is the valve before the input on the heater core, or after the output.
Old 26th December 2003
Saab Mad