help me please, no charge - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab C900, 1979-1993 & '94 Convertible (C=classic) > C900 Workshop

C900 Workshop Classic 900 (1979-1993 & '94 Convertible) Technical Forum.

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 21st December 2003

Join Date: Dec 2003                                                
Default help me please, no charge

Hello i am new to this forum. I have a 91 900 s and it won't charge. I have replaced the alternator and regulator but still won't charge. I am an auto tech but work on GM cars primarly. The battery is OK and will start the car with no problem. after the car starts though, the field will not activat. I searched the forums and am begining to wonder about two things; the diode behind the charge light and the little black device on the back of the alt. with a single wire. What is thie little box above the regulator with a single wire? After I put in the alternator the batt. light came on and turned off after I revved it. It has not come on again, when started, but still won't charge. I am thinking that mabey the diode behind the charge light failed and is causing an open causing it not to charge but have no clue on how to check it. Does the alt light circuit go to the alt. from the single wire to the back of the alt? I have no diagrams and could not find a book at several auto stores.thanks for your help. DAn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 21st December 2003
Saab Lunatic

Join Date: Feb 2002                                                
My Saabs: '87 900 8v N/A & '88 900 SPG, Both 5 spd

The "black device" holds the brush.

You should have a positive cable connected to the starter and a black ground attached, not the one that you stated.
Old 22nd December 2003