check engine light with new high flow intake? - SaabCentral Forums
* site search:  
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab 9-5 Mk.I, 1998-2009 > Saab 9-5 Performance, Mods & Tuning
Saab 9-5 Performance, Mods & Tuning Covers Tuning & Performance modifications for the Saab 9-5

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th July 2010
supersaab13 supersaab13 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010                                                
Location: Holt, MI
My Saabs: 99 9-5 2.3t
Posts: 13
Default check engine light with new high flow intake?

I just installed my new high flow intake from genuine saab and my check engine light came on all of a sudden has this happened to anyone else or is it just me??????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 29th July 2010
mt.aero's Avatar
mt.aero mt.aero is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007                                                
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
My Saabs: '02 9 Aero, '89 900S
Posts: 2,036
Default

It wont throw a CEL on its own. Did you unplug anything during the install? Double check to make sure you buttoned everything up. Get the code pulled and go from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 29th July 2010
vagrantradio's Avatar
vagrantradio vagrantradio is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008                                                
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
My Saabs: 2002 9-3 HOT
Posts: 484
Default

Check your vacuum lines, make sure the mass air flow sensor is hooked up (including the plug).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 29th July 2010
supersaab13 supersaab13 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010                                                
Location: Holt, MI
My Saabs: 99 9-5 2.3t
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mt.aero View Post
It wont throw a CEL on its own. Did you unplug anything during the install? Double check to make sure you buttoned everything up. Get the code pulled and go from there.
All i did to install it was take the clamps off the top of the airbox and bottom by the snorkal. Then i took out the snorkal and the airbox thats all i unplugged or took out then i tightened the clamp as much as i could onto the new filter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 30th July 2010
mgmt585's Avatar
mgmt585 mgmt585 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: May 2009                                                
Location: Aberdeen
My Saabs: somewhere, over the rainbow....
Posts: 463
Default

could be too oily. is it a k&n as opposed to a foam filter (k&n come with a nice heavy dose of "pre oiling"). Check your MAF sensor to see if its all oily.

Go to a dealer and get your code read. This could be something completely unrelated!
__________________
Saabrina Stage 4 9-5 - SOLD 3rd july '10
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 30th July 2010
Bubbaman's Avatar
Bubbaman Bubbaman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009                                                
Location: Netherlands
My Saabs: MY01 9-5 Aero Sedan (T7Suited St 2+) LPG
Posts: 188
Default

Check the electrical connector to your airmassmeter. Perhaps with all the work done around that area you caused a wire to break or something like that...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 30th July 2010
LincolnW's Avatar
LincolnW LincolnW is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010                                                
Location: Portland Oregon
My Saabs: 1999 Saab 9-5, BSR PPC, 3" exhaust, TD04
Posts: 335
Default

Changing to an open intake won't in itself cause a CEL. So either it's totally unrelated, or you bumped something during the install.

If it were me, I'd first look over the install to make sure I didn't miss something. If everything looked good, I'd take it to get the code read.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 31st July 2010
supersaab13 supersaab13 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010                                                
Location: Holt, MI
My Saabs: 99 9-5 2.3t
Posts: 13
Default

It's a k&n filter and I just got my car all checked out About 2 or 3 weeks ago cuz I needed a new fuel pump so the codes have been read so it must be something I did during the install but I didn't see many wires or anything wen I was doin it so I don't know wat I did. I don't think any of them broke...... I guess I will have to look over it again could anything be really major if it had something to do with the install
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 31st July 2010
mgmt585's Avatar
mgmt585 mgmt585 is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: May 2009                                                
Location: Aberdeen
My Saabs: somewhere, over the rainbow....
Posts: 463
Default

dude, just becuase you got your car completely checked out a couple of weeks ago doesn't mean something else could have gone wrong unrealated to the filter!

Get the codes read or risk paying the price (could be an engine if its something like an oil leak from corroded PCV).
__________________
Saabrina Stage 4 9-5 - SOLD 3rd july '10
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 19th August 2010
Saab_Love's Avatar
Saab_Love Saab_Love is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: MA/RI
My Saabs: 2002 9-5 aero and 1995 9000 CSE (aero)
Posts: 269
Default

Im trying to figure out the same issue with my 02 9-5 aero. Put the new filter on and check engine light came on. I plugged in my scanner and got p0100 (MAFS not responding). I put the stock air box back on and brought it to the dealer under warranty and they said the MAF was bad and replaced it for free. It ran fine and had no errors after that and I drove it for 2 days. I decided it was safe to try the filter from genuinesaab again. I put it on, and after 15 miles the check engine light came back on AGAIN and i cant pass inspection. I put the stock box back on and have to bring it back to the dealer tomorrow under warranty agaiinnnn. I dont understand. I didnt move or touch any wires, and I work part time as a saab mechanic so I'm not an idiot about working on my car. Everything is set up right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SaabCentral Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

top of page | sitemap | email us



copyright © 2003 - 2011 saabcentral.com, All rights reserved http://www.whiter.co.uk - valid xhtml - valid css
SaabCentral is an independently run website and is not affiliated in any way to Saab Automobile AB.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.