Possible newb questions? - SaabCentral Forums
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum

Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab C900, 1979-1993 & '94 Convertible (C=classic) > C900 Performance, Mods & Tuning

C900 Performance, Mods & Tuning Covers Tuning & Performance modifications for the Classic 900 (C900)

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 10th May 2010

Join Date: May 2010                                                
My Saabs: 1991 900 turbo
Default Possible newb questions?

I have recently acquired a 1991 900 (high pressure)Turbo. It has the TE05-12B.

I have a lot of experience with TDs, but little with turbo petrol engines.

When I bought it the turbo boost would go to 1/2 yellow, max.
I disconnected the plug from the APC valve and found it would only go to ~1/10 the way up the yellow. I disconnected the wasegate actuation line, at the APC valve, and the boost would go to almost all the way up the yellow.

Is all of the above normal? I have tried ULP and PULP, and there seems to be little difference.

The turbo produces little/no boost <2500 rpm. Is that also normal? I am thinking a VNT turbo might work well for all round driveability, with a reasonable top end???

There seems to be a large bolt in the manifold in a good spot to iinstall an EGT. Has anyone done the same? What thread is the bolt?

Lastly, has anyone calibrated the white/yellow/red boost guage against a real boost guage???

Last edited by isuzuroversaab; 10th May 2010 at 10:42 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10th May 2010
Saab Lunatic

Join Date: Aug 2001                                                
My Saabs: 3dr c900 T16RA, 9-5 Aero Estate

The end of the dash boost gauge should be around 12-13psi, however it is worth checking this as on some cars I have seen it it lies like a politician.