Laptop to saab software - SaabCentral Forums
*
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum


Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab NG900, 1994-1998 and OG9-3, 1999-2002 & '03 Convertible (NG=new gen/OG=old gen) > NG900 & OG9-3 Workshop

NG900 & OG9-3 Workshop NG900 (1994 to 1998) & OG9-3 (1999-2002) & '03 Convertible Technical Forum

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th October 2009
standarren standarren is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: kingsheath
My Saabs: 93 convertible 2001
Posts: 129
Default Laptop to saab software

hi there guys has any one connected a laptop to there saab sucessfully if so what software did you install or do you suggest any cheers daz
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 27th October 2009
PoisonBeef PoisonBeef is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009                                                
Location: Green Bay, WI
My Saabs: 1999 9-3
Posts: 130
Default

it takes a lot more than just software.

You could just get a OBDII-USB adapter.

I picked up a CAN-USB adapter (~150 bucks), its more complicated but does more fun stuff. I haven't fooled around too much with it, Fall is silly busy time at work.

Visit http://forum.ecuproject.com/ or http://trionic.mobixs.eu/ and read/learn

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 28th October 2009
standarren standarren is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: kingsheath
My Saabs: 93 convertible 2001
Posts: 129
Default

wow that looks complicated i was thinking off buying a cable plugging it in under the foot well and connect to a laptop with some free software
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 28th October 2009
sailorcolin's Avatar
sailorcolin sailorcolin is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Jan 2006                                                
Location: Rock Hill, SC
My Saabs: 1997 900se 2.0t
Posts: 504
Garage
Default

I have been wanting to do this for the longest, I have some car pc soft ware that is amazing once i get it all hooked up.

http://trionic.mobixs.eu/
__________________
1997 900se 2.0t|5 Speed
JT Exhaust|Projector Headlights
B&P FM 27X7X3|Stage +2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 28th October 2009
lms's Avatar
lms lms is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005                                                
Location: United States
Posts: 3,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by standarren View Post
wow that looks complicated i was thinking off buying a cable plugging it in under the foot well and connect to a laptop with some free software
The question is, why?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 28th October 2009
standarren standarren is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: kingsheath
My Saabs: 93 convertible 2001
Posts: 129
Thumbs up

i would like to check if there are any underlieing problems' i would also like to check family cars save on the cost of taking it to a specialist it is the credit crunch you no
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 28th October 2009
shaner3721's Avatar
shaner3721 shaner3721 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: Boulder, CO
My Saabs: 1995 Saab 900 S
Posts: 1,051
Default touch screen

hey guys,

I am dropping a turbo in my 95 900 s this coming summer and am hoping to tune my own ecu using t5suite. I then plan on setting up a 7in touch screen computer in the car and i will run the t5 carPC dashboard on the screen. The trionics website says that it uses touch screen.

I am curious if anyone has ever used a touch screen with this software and if it is easy to set up?

also, is the connection for the carPC program (CAN-USB) the same connection for tuning with t5 suite?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 28th October 2009
PoisonBeef PoisonBeef is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009                                                
Location: Green Bay, WI
My Saabs: 1999 9-3
Posts: 130
Default

shanner, I will get back to you once I finally bite the bullet and buy the touch screen...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 29th October 2009
shaner3721's Avatar
shaner3721 shaner3721 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: Boulder, CO
My Saabs: 1995 Saab 900 S
Posts: 1,051
Default

Sounds good poisonbeef. How do you have your computer hooked up and are you going to use the same computer for the touchscreen? does the connection you have now allow you to tune your car with t5suite?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 29th October 2009
shaner3721's Avatar
shaner3721 shaner3721 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: Boulder, CO
My Saabs: 1995 Saab 900 S
Posts: 1,051
Default

also, where did you get your CAN-USB Adapter from?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 29th October 2009
gnode gnode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009                                                
Location: Boston
My Saabs: 1999 9-3
Posts: 231
Default

Ebay. I got mine for $20 shipped from China. Works well!!

Search for elm 327.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 29th October 2009
Rennsport1's Avatar
Rennsport1 Rennsport1 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2008                                                
Location: Dallas
My Saabs: Until 7/2010 9-3AERO SS,2.0T(previous)
Posts: 3,768
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by PoisonBeef View Post
it takes a lot more than just software.

You could just get a OBDII-USB adapter.

I picked up a CAN-USB adapter (~150 bucks), its more complicated but does more fun stuff. I haven't fooled around too much with it, Fall is silly busy time at work.

Visit http://forum.ecuproject.com/ or http://trionic.mobixs.eu/ and read/learn

You know of any tuning apps for smart phones ? I just got the new Android (open source) based Motorola Cliq.
__________________
Your Texas Realtor since1995.Sorry, I crossed to the Bavarian dark sideMY FACEBOOK PAGE WITH/SAAB TURBO LIFE GALLERY. JET BLACK/TAN DAKOTA '11 335i N55 Twin Power/ZFSteptronic/SPORT/PREMIUM/NAVIGATION/DINAN 355HP/401LBFT, Previous: E92 328i 6MT SPORT/PREMIUM, '08 9-3Aero SS, '07 9-3 2.0T Premium,'06 COBB STAGE III WRX - GEARBOX KEPT BREAKING,etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 29th October 2009
PoisonBeef PoisonBeef is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009                                                
Location: Green Bay, WI
My Saabs: 1999 9-3
Posts: 130
Default

I am sure tunning apps exist, but nothing for saabs that I know off on a smart phone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old 30th October 2009
shaner3721's Avatar
shaner3721 shaner3721 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: Boulder, CO
My Saabs: 1995 Saab 900 S
Posts: 1,051
Default

sorry if this sounds like a dumb question, but can anyone tell me, am I able to flash and tune my ECU using the CAN-USB Adapter too?

thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old 30th October 2009
hummvee2134 hummvee2134 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009                                                
Location: Massachusetts
My Saabs: 99' saab 93 SE
Posts: 140
Default

using can usb? yes. There is sometimes a chance you will brick your ecu so go to the junkyard, pick up a t5, dump the bin off of yours, then flash the "new"one.

Also for the previous post, touchscreen works fine with t5suite. its optimised for it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #16  
Old 30th October 2009
shaner3721's Avatar
shaner3721 shaner3721 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: Boulder, CO
My Saabs: 1995 Saab 900 S
Posts: 1,051
Default

alright, thanks hummvee.
So considering the fact that I have motronics right now and will be converting to trionic in the future would you recommend I pick up two t5 ecu's?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #17  
Old 30th October 2009
hummvee2134 hummvee2134 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009                                                
Location: Massachusetts
My Saabs: 99' saab 93 SE
Posts: 140
Default

i thought the saab 900s has a t5? do you have the red DIC?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18  
Old 30th October 2009
shaner3721's Avatar
shaner3721 shaner3721 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: Boulder, CO
My Saabs: 1995 Saab 900 S
Posts: 1,051
Default

i certainly do not have a red DIC because my saab doesn't have a turbo... yet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19  
Old 30th October 2009
hummvee2134 hummvee2134 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009                                                
Location: Massachusetts
My Saabs: 99' saab 93 SE
Posts: 140
Default

ahh ok.

I dont know very much about the morotonic. i was originally under the impression that all saabs had a trionic.

so im not quite sure what to do. im sure you cant just drop a t5 in it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20  
Old 30th October 2009
shaner3721's Avatar
shaner3721 shaner3721 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009                                                
Location: Boulder, CO
My Saabs: 1995 Saab 900 S
Posts: 1,051
Default

Well, I will need some other hardware, but yea I will be putting a t5 ECU in it once I have the turbo on it. I will have to do some extra tuning so that I can run some of my original fuel/ve maps, but that is another story that I am working on...

Since I think I will be getting two t5 ECU's where do you guys think the best palce to get them from is?

thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SaabCentral Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

top of page | sitemap | email us



copyright © 2003 - 2011 saabcentral.com, All rights reserved http://www.whiter.co.uk - valid xhtml - valid css
SaabCentral is an independently run website and is not affiliated in any way to Saab Automobile AB.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.