Saab WIS and EPC on the Mac - SaabCentral Forums
*
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum


Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab Cafe > The Lounge

The Lounge For general discussions

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th March 2008
Saab9-3_2.0tSE Saab9-3_2.0tSE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006                                                
Location: Finland
My Saabs: Saab 9-3 2.0t SE
Posts: 20
Default Saab WIS and EPC on the Mac

I have WIS and EPC for my Saab 9-3 2.0t ym99. So can I use those also in Mac by using Crossover, fusionVM or ... Which one is the easiest way? How about usb2obd obd2 reader (this is not mandatory at now). I have MacBook 2.2GHz with Leopard.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 18th March 2008
Cuba's Avatar
Cuba Cuba is offline
Super Moderator EMERITUS
 
Join Date: Aug 2003                                                
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
My Saabs: 1995 9000 Aero.
Posts: 8,758
Default

I gave Interpol a call. They're coming around to "help" you out with that.

-Kiitos

__________________
Remember to vote.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 18th March 2008
Wulf Wulf is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006                                                
Location: NW Michigan - USA
My Saabs: 2011 Saab 9-4X 3.0i
Posts: 7,581
Default

I am running the WIS and EPC in Parallels on my MacBook Pro and they work great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 18th March 2008
DavidMorgan's Avatar
DavidMorgan DavidMorgan is offline
Saab on the Brain!
 
Join Date: Oct 2004                                                
Location: SaabLand
My Saabs: My SAAB
Posts: 9,088
Default

I have WIS 3.0 but cant even "execute" it .. that'll teach me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 18th March 2008
Wulf Wulf is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006                                                
Location: NW Michigan - USA
My Saabs: 2011 Saab 9-4X 3.0i
Posts: 7,581
Default

You never were able to fix that problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 18th March 2008
DavidMorgan's Avatar
DavidMorgan DavidMorgan is offline
Saab on the Brain!
 
Join Date: Oct 2004                                                
Location: SaabLand
My Saabs: My SAAB
Posts: 9,088
Default

nope, but I shall have an IT friend look at it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 18th March 2008
Saab9-3_2.0tSE Saab9-3_2.0tSE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006                                                
Location: Finland
My Saabs: Saab 9-3 2.0t SE
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wulf
I am running the WIS and EPC in Parallels on my MacBook Pro and they work great.
Should I then install Windows at all? Is there any risk that my MB can be infected by virus? I am not going to use any other Windows application.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 18th March 2008
Wulf Wulf is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006                                                
Location: NW Michigan - USA
My Saabs: 2011 Saab 9-4X 3.0i
Posts: 7,581
Default

Yes, it only runs on Windows so you will need that. It actually runs off an Access database.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 18th March 2008
Saab9-3_2.0tSE Saab9-3_2.0tSE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006                                                
Location: Finland
My Saabs: Saab 9-3 2.0t SE
Posts: 20
Default

Have you ever tried that CrossOver? I read that then you don't need install Windows at all. There is also some trial but... may be better to wait if some have allready tried it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 18th March 2008
900t's Avatar
900t 900t is offline
Saabista
 
Join Date: Dec 2002                                                
Location: Montreal, Canada
My Saabs: 1989 900t, 1990 900t, 1990 900 S, 87 SPG
Posts: 18,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saab9-3_2.0tSE
Should I then install Windows at all? Is there any risk that my MB can be infected by virus? I am not going to use any other Windows application.
You aren't going to get infected by virus just by install Windows
__________________
Turbo allows the valiant who has appeared at the wheel SAAB to gain momentum for 200 km/h Charm SAAB Turbo also that it to you not bad Porsche on it it is possible with speed of pregnant turtle feeling itself in full comfort which by the way our hero obeys a rudder reliably and confidently the truth management hardly will twirl a steering wheel by one finger uneasy. Without the hydraulic booster quickly enough perishes a steering shaft, but to change its hemorrhoids from the most fierce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 18th March 2008
snowboardin58's Avatar
snowboardin58 snowboardin58 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004                                                
Location: Michigan
My Saabs: 94 900s,00 Vig,01 SE Wgn,73 240Z,01 Vig
Posts: 1,512
Default

Yea, I would just go ahead with the upgrade to a Windows-based PC. Macs are pretty hip now-a-days, so I bet you could sell the Apple and use the money for a computer 2-3X as powerful. Nice laptops and desktops on woot.com fairly frequently.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 18th March 2008
xhawksaab's Avatar
xhawksaab xhawksaab is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008                                                
Location: Appleton, WI
My Saabs: 2001 9-3 Base 1991 9000CD
Posts: 305
Default Upgrade to PC?

Not to open a can of worms, but why would changing to a PC from a MacBook be an upgrade? Where do you get the 2-3 times faster?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 19th March 2008
Orca Orca is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2003                                                
Location: ܁
My Saabs: ܁
Posts: 4,222
Default

Parallels is good enough. VMware Fusion, otherwise. I have both and both run EPC without issue. I wouldn't bother with Crossover ... it's crumby

... or torment yourself with Bochs or something similar in the UNIX environment ... there may be a proper Mac port of one of those open source virtual machines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old 19th March 2008
snowboardin58's Avatar
snowboardin58 snowboardin58 is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004                                                
Location: Michigan
My Saabs: 94 900s,00 Vig,01 SE Wgn,73 240Z,01 Vig
Posts: 1,512
Default

ha ok, probably not 2-3 times faster. just an upgrade nonetheless. its just science
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old 20th March 2008
stamonkey's Avatar
stamonkey stamonkey is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: May 2006                                                
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
My Saabs: 1988 C900 SPG
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowboardin58
ha ok, probably not 2-3 times faster. just an upgrade nonetheless. its just science
http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,13...s/article.html
The fastest notebook at running Windows its a Macbook Pro.

To answer the question, I think Crossover only works with a select group of PC programs (I think like Photoshop, Office and such). I use vmware, which I think is a bit more stable than Parallels is. Both Parallels and Vmware require you to have Windows installed.

I'm on my second Mac right now and will never buy a Windows machine again. (well maybe Linux)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #16  
Old 20th March 2008
KurBads's Avatar
KurBads KurBads is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: May 2005                                                
Location: Brussels, Belgium
My Saabs: `68 96V4; `69 Sonett V4; 2Xc900 airflow
Posts: 1,446
Default

I wander if there is any solution to the following:

- my PC has been configured so that only "admin" can install software.
- some software still can be installed from "user" profile while other starts installing and then in the middle cancels itself (including EPC).
- is there anything on how to go about that issue and being able to install from "user" account?

Thank`s!
__________________
`89 c900 8v; `93 c900 16T (x-LPT) airflow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #17  
Old 20th March 2008
900t's Avatar
900t 900t is offline
Saabista
 
Join Date: Dec 2002                                                
Location: Montreal, Canada
My Saabs: 1989 900t, 1990 900t, 1990 900 S, 87 SPG
Posts: 18,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stamonkey
http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,13...s/article.html
The fastest notebook at running Windows its a Macbook Pro.

To answer the question, I think Crossover only works with a select group of PC programs (I think like Photoshop, Office and such). I use vmware, which I think is a bit more stable than Parallels is. Both Parallels and Vmware require you to have Windows installed.

I'm on my second Mac right now and will never buy a Windows machine again. (well maybe Linux)
No the fastest computer running Windows is something some geek made in his basement for 600$.
__________________
Turbo allows the valiant who has appeared at the wheel SAAB to gain momentum for 200 km/h Charm SAAB Turbo also that it to you not bad Porsche on it it is possible with speed of pregnant turtle feeling itself in full comfort which by the way our hero obeys a rudder reliably and confidently the truth management hardly will twirl a steering wheel by one finger uneasy. Without the hydraulic booster quickly enough perishes a steering shaft, but to change its hemorrhoids from the most fierce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18  
Old 20th March 2008
cse_20's Avatar
cse_20 cse_20 is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Aug 2003                                                
Location: Montreal, Canada
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 2.3T HOT w\Sport Package
Posts: 708
Default

You need the administrator password to install certain software which can be profile specific or you still need the administrator password to change the profile rights of the "user" profile to be able to install software.
Regards,
cse_20

Quote:
Originally Posted by KurBads
I wander if there is any solution to the following:

- my PC has been configured so that only "admin" can install software.
- some software still can be installed from "user" profile while other starts installing and then in the middle cancels itself (including EPC).
- is there anything on how to go about that issue and being able to install from "user" account?

Thank`s!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19  
Old 20th March 2008
KurBads's Avatar
KurBads KurBads is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: May 2005                                                
Location: Brussels, Belgium
My Saabs: `68 96V4; `69 Sonett V4; 2Xc900 airflow
Posts: 1,446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cse_20
You need the administrator password to install certain software which can be profile specific or you still need the administrator password to change the profile rights of the "user" profile to be able to install software.
Regards,
cse_20
yeah ... I know. Problem is that they don`t allow installing any outside soft.
Why some software does ignore and installs without admin password?
__________________
`89 c900 8v; `93 c900 16T (x-LPT) airflow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20  
Old 20th March 2008
cse_20's Avatar
cse_20 cse_20 is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Aug 2003                                                
Location: Montreal, Canada
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 2.3T HOT w\Sport Package
Posts: 708
Default

IS it your PC? You should have the admin password, if it is not your PC (like a company PC or laptop) then you should not install anything on it.

Depends what type of software it is (profile specific) and if the install checks for profiles.
Regards,
cse_20


Quote:
Originally Posted by KurBads
yeah ... I know. Problem is that they don`t allow installing any outside soft.
Why some software does ignore and installs without admin password?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SaabCentral Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

top of page | sitemap | email us



copyright © 2003 - 2011 saabcentral.com, All rights reserved http://www.whiter.co.uk - valid xhtml - valid css
SaabCentral is an independently run website and is not affiliated in any way to Saab Automobile AB.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.