SaabCentral Forums banner

Black Smoke Coming out of the exhaust.

2K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  rykk2000 
#1 ·
Has anybody had a problem with their 93 blowing a large puff of black smoke out of the exhaust on the initial takeoff? I have a 04 93 Arc w/ 14,000 miles. It is going in for it's first service tomorrow.

#3 ·
If this is the first start of the morning, you're probably fine, but you shouldn't see this once the cat heats up...

#4 · (Edited)
smoke

i get a puff of blue/gray smoke upon startup - the longer the car sits between startups " da bigger da puff " this is most likely engine oil getting by the valve guides and into the cylinders - this is not good for the catalyst and will eventually ruin it - i have 17k miles on my car - it has done it since new - i have had more irritating small and large problems with this than with ANY OTHER CAR that i have ever had - i have been driving for 35 years - and i have had quite a few - i am going to cut my losses soon and say adios to this Swedish turd. best of luck Ed :(

#5 ·
Blowing smoke.

This puff of smoke is coming out after only about 3-4 hours of sitting.

I am taking the car in for service tomorrow, so I am think I am going to bring this up to the dealership. I figure since it is under warranty they should check it out.

#6 ·
White/gray smoke is oil. Black is fuel. you said it was black, right? and you said on takeoff not start up, right? Well. It sounds like it running rich. These other comment about oil seeping past valve seals and piston rings is a different issue. I don't believe you have an issue to worry about especially with your mileage. the car isn't even broke in yet. I believe your dealer will concur with me and I wouldn't worry about it. it's normal.

#7 ·