My new Double Din - Page 8 - SaabCentral Forums
*
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum


Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab Ownership General Topics > Audio, Video, Navigation & Security

Audio, Video, Navigation & Security Discussions about in-car infotainment, navigation and security systems - independent of car model and year.

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #141  
Old 23rd March 2016
TheCleaner TheCleaner is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 Aero stage 3+
Posts: 774
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
Because the stock head unit has a processor on board that interprets the canbus signals from the SWC via the CIM unit. The aftermarket radio doesn't have that ability, so the connects2 is your bridge.
Understood. I guess I was thinking the android HU with its "swc programming" would have just "listened" to the signal and then be told "remember that when you see this, it is for vol up" etc.

But since I don't even really understand what CANBUS, CIM, etc. even is then I'll just get the connects 2 and call it a day.
__________________
Chris ◊
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Saab:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #142  
Old 23rd March 2016
swedespeed7's Avatar
swedespeed7 swedespeed7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: Chicago
My Saabs: '08 9 Aero SS, '08 9 2.0T SC
Posts: 7,836
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCleaner View Post
Understood. I guess I was thinking the android HU with its "swc programming" would have just "listened" to the signal and then be told "remember that when you see this, it is for vol up" etc.

But since I don't even really understand what CANBUS, CIM, etc. even is then I'll just get the connects 2 and call it a day.
Basically your head unit speaks English and you car speaks Swedish. Someone's gotta do the translating!
__________________
Past SAABs: '93, '94, and '95 9000 Aeros, '01 Viggen, '09 2.0T SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #143  
Old 23rd March 2016
TheCleaner TheCleaner is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 Aero stage 3+
Posts: 774
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
Basically your head unit speaks English and you car speaks Swedish. Someone's gotta do the translating!
So looking at the connects2 it almost seems like it was meant to replace the stock harness plugins but since my harness I already bought from Nexxia here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Radio-Stereo...1Vdctq&vxp=mtr

I'm a little lost as to if I just replace the harness I already bought with the Connects2 completely or how they both work in tandem...if you know...great...if not I can try and figure it out.
__________________
Chris ◊
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Saab:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #144  
Old 23rd March 2016
swedespeed7's Avatar
swedespeed7 swedespeed7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: Chicago
My Saabs: '08 9 Aero SS, '08 9 2.0T SC
Posts: 7,836
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCleaner View Post
So looking at the connects2 it almost seems like it was meant to replace the stock harness plugins but since my harness I already bought from Nexxia here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Radio-Stereo...1Vdctq&vxp=mtr

I'm a little lost as to if I just replace the harness I already bought with the Connects2 completely or how they both work in tandem...if you know...great...if not I can try and figure it out.
Yes, correct. The Connects2 replaces everything, not just the SWC. You won't need the Nexxia.
__________________
Past SAABs: '93, '94, and '95 9000 Aeros, '01 Viggen, '09 2.0T SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #145  
Old 23rd March 2016
swedespeed7's Avatar
swedespeed7 swedespeed7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: Chicago
My Saabs: '08 9 Aero SS, '08 9 2.0T SC
Posts: 7,836
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
Yes, correct. The Connects2 replaces everything, not just the SWC. You won't need the Nexxia.
Looking more closely at that product, those are just vehicle specific connectors with open end splices. Wouldn't do much for you anyway. Connects2 will do it all for you.
__________________
Past SAABs: '93, '94, and '95 9000 Aeros, '01 Viggen, '09 2.0T SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #146  
Old 23rd March 2016
TheCleaner TheCleaner is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 Aero stage 3+
Posts: 774
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
Looking more closely at that product, those are just vehicle specific connectors with open end splices. Wouldn't do much for you anyway. Connects2 will do it all for you.
I see...ok. Well...crap. So I wasted a little bit of money. I still needed the dash kit, but the harness was likely around $15-20 of that. And it had the RCA jacks, etc.

I guess the Connects2 will handle everything including the speakers, etc and I can remove/toss the harness I am currently using from that ebay kit?
__________________
Chris ◊
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Saab:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #147  
Old 23rd March 2016
swedespeed7's Avatar
swedespeed7 swedespeed7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: Chicago
My Saabs: '08 9 Aero SS, '08 9 2.0T SC
Posts: 7,836
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCleaner View Post
I see...ok. Well...crap. So I wasted a little bit of money. I still needed the dash kit, but the harness was likely around $15-20 of that. And it had the RCA jacks, etc.

I guess the Connects2 will handle everything including the speakers, etc and I can remove/toss the harness I am currently using from that ebay kit?
Correct. You won't need the RCA jacks anyway, those are for aftermarket amps
__________________
Past SAABs: '93, '94, and '95 9000 Aeros, '01 Viggen, '09 2.0T SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #148  
Old 24th March 2016
TheCleaner TheCleaner is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 Aero stage 3+
Posts: 774
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
Correct. You won't need the RCA jacks anyway, those are for aftermarket amps
So I talked with Connects2 about the 1.2 harness, but they aren't sure if it will be compatible with an 06 9-5. I thought the 06-09 were all the same? I have the Fujitsu Ten head unit, so I figure it would work, but they can't confirm. They did say they base it off the head unit so they think it may work...

Do you happen or anyone else happen to know?

Also, one thing they did say was that they recommend getting CTMULTILEAD.2 nowadays instead of the Chinese lead...since it is compatible with multiple head units...including Chinese.
__________________
Chris ◊
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Saab:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #149  
Old 24th March 2016
swedespeed7's Avatar
swedespeed7 swedespeed7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: Chicago
My Saabs: '08 9 Aero SS, '08 9 2.0T SC
Posts: 7,836
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCleaner View Post
So I talked with Connects2 about the 1.2 harness, but they aren't sure if it will be compatible with an 06 9-5. I thought the 06-09 were all the same? I have the Fujitsu Ten head unit, so I figure it would work, but they can't confirm. They did say they base it off the head unit so they think it may work...

Do you happen or anyone else happen to know?

Also, one thing they did say was that they recommend getting CTMULTILEAD.2 nowadays instead of the Chinese lead...since it is compatible with multiple head units...including Chinese.
Sure, didn't know they had a multilead now. Get that instead.

If your radio looks like this, I don't see why it wouldn't work. Fujitsu-Ten is Fujitsu-Ten, they all use CANBUS for communication.

__________________
Past SAABs: '93, '94, and '95 9000 Aeros, '01 Viggen, '09 2.0T SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #150  
Old 24th March 2016
TheCleaner TheCleaner is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 Aero stage 3+
Posts: 774
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
Sure, didn't know they had a multilead now. Get that instead.

If your radio looks like this, I don't see why it wouldn't work. Fujitsu-Ten is Fujitsu-Ten, they all use CANBUS for communication.
OK, yep...same radio. It's the AS3 Prestige (9 speaker). I just didn't know if for some reason the canbus or resistance or something was different for some reason between 06 and 08...I'm just going to get it and see what happens.

Thanks again...I'll report back after the install.
__________________
Chris ◊
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Saab:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #151  
Old 25th March 2016
TheCleaner TheCleaner is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014                                                
Location: USA
My Saabs: 2006 9-5 Aero stage 3+
Posts: 774
Garage
Default

Anyone know where the illum wire should be hooked up to? I don't want to hook it up to my dash lights as I've heard horror stories about losing dash lights completely. I'd like the button lights on my radio to light up when I turn on my headlights at night.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #152  
Old 31st May 2016
99_9-3Mike's Avatar
99_9-3Mike 99_9-3Mike is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Apr 2010                                                
Location: Boca Raton, FL
My Saabs: Blue 2007 93 'vert
Posts: 405
Default

To get the radio lights to come on with the dash lights, it has to be hooked up to a light that dims.

I'd consider wiring it to the ash tray bulb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #153  
Old 28th June 2016
Marvin b's Avatar
Marvin b Marvin b is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012                                                
Location: South Carolina
My Saabs: 2007 9-3 SS 2.0 L Turbo; 1998 900 vert
Posts: 245
Default

Fixing to order this for my 07 9-3 Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.com/itm/182124567187I think this is what I'll need from reading off this post of not let me know or if I'm missing something

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #154  
Old 28th June 2016
swedespeed7's Avatar
swedespeed7 swedespeed7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: Chicago
My Saabs: '08 9 Aero SS, '08 9 2.0T SC
Posts: 7,836
Garage
Default

You need this if you want steering wheel controls. Then you don't need the Spiral kit.
__________________
Past SAABs: '93, '94, and '95 9000 Aeros, '01 Viggen, '09 2.0T SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #155  
Old 28th June 2016
Marvin b's Avatar
Marvin b Marvin b is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012                                                
Location: South Carolina
My Saabs: 2007 9-3 SS 2.0 L Turbo; 1998 900 vert
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
You need this if you want steering wheel controls. Then you don't need the Spiral kit.
Cool deal the odb2 connector to connect to the stereo I don't think what I have posted is right

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #156  
Old 28th June 2016
Marvin b's Avatar
Marvin b Marvin b is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012                                                
Location: South Carolina
My Saabs: 2007 9-3 SS 2.0 L Turbo; 1998 900 vert
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
You need this if you want steering wheel controls. Then you don't need the Spiral kit.
OK there's so much to take in lol how do I hook the factor amp to the new stereo and a after market amp I have 10s going in the trunk

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #157  
Old 28th June 2016
swedespeed7's Avatar
swedespeed7 swedespeed7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010                                                
Location: Chicago
My Saabs: '08 9 Aero SS, '08 9 2.0T SC
Posts: 7,836
Garage
Default

eSID has nothing to do with car audio.
__________________
Past SAABs: '93, '94, and '95 9000 Aeros, '01 Viggen, '09 2.0T SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #158  
Old 28th June 2016
Marvin b's Avatar
Marvin b Marvin b is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012                                                
Location: South Carolina
My Saabs: 2007 9-3 SS 2.0 L Turbo; 1998 900 vert
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedespeed7 View Post
eSID has nothing to do with car audio.
I didn't think so

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #159  
Old 10th July 2016
guma53 guma53 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016                                                
Posts: 3
Default

hi,
I have Saab 9-3 2006 (model year 2007), I want install this chinese radio: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Joyin...651614664.html

I know I need steering wheel interface, so I've asked connects2 technical support if interface CTSSA001 will work with my car, and they said:

"our steering control interface for the SAAB are not compatible with Automatic transmission vehicle"

Really??

Is that true? do any of you guys have saab with automatic transmission and have double din istalled?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #160  
Old 4 Days Ago
Yoshimura Yoshimura is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017                                                
Location: NY
My Saabs: 99 9-5 saab 2.3T
Posts: 115
Default

This thread has a lot of useful information about upgrading a after market radio unit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
aftermarket radio

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SaabCentral Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To DOUBLE DIN OR NOT TO DOUBLE DIN Saabboy93se NG900 & OG9-3 Workshop 4 16th June 2013 11:36 AM
Double Din Help PharaohSteve 9-3 Sedan, Convertible ('04+)/Combi & 9-3X Workshop - ALL Engines 16 6th February 2011 05:36 PM
Cant find a Double DIN to Single DIN kit for 9-5 usmcpfc4eva 9-5 Workshop 6 9th July 2010 09:35 PM
Double Din Chris 9-5 9-5 Performance, Mods & Tuning 12 18th May 2010 06:17 PM
Double DIN ragtopcav NG900 & OG9-3 Performance, Mods & Tuning 2 16th February 2004 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

top of page | sitemap | email us



copyright © 2003 - 2011 saabcentral.com, All rights reserved http://www.whiter.co.uk - valid xhtml - valid css
SaabCentral is an independently run website and is not affiliated in any way to Saab Automobile AB.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.