!!!!!!!!!boost guage install!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???????? please help - SaabCentral Forums
*
Home Saab Pictures Saab Classifieds Saab Dealer Listings Saab Forum Saab Forum


Go Back   SaabCentral Forums > Saab 9-3 SportSedan, Cabrio ('04+), Combi & 9-3X, 2003-2012 > 9-3 Sedan, Cabrio ('04+)/Combi & 9-3X Performance Mods & Tuning - ALL ENGINES

9-3 Sedan, Cabrio ('04+)/Combi & 9-3X Performance Mods & Tuning - ALL ENGINES Covers GENERAL Tuning & Performance modifications that are *non-engine specific* in nature

SaabCentral.com is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd March 2009
SICKSAAB's Avatar
SICKSAAB SICKSAAB is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008                                                
Location: illnois
My Saabs: 2006 Saab 9-3 Aero
Posts: 53
Exclamation !!!!!!!!!boost guage install!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???????? please help

i have an 2006 9-3 aero, the 2.8.. and would like to put autometer boost guage in it, but dont know right vac line to use!!! please help!




new to forums!! thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 22nd March 2009
Discreet's Avatar
Discreet Discreet is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008                                                
Location: Houston
My Saabs: 2011 BMW 335i
Posts: 299
Default

tee into the one coming out of the fuel pressure regulator at the end of the fuel rail.
__________________
My saab is gone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 22nd March 2009
mike saunders's Avatar
mike saunders mike saunders is offline
Saabista
 
Join Date: Dec 2003                                                
Location: Boston
My Saabs: Tuned NG900, stock 99 9-5
Posts: 11,140
Default

Putting an Autometer gauge on a 2006 Saab is like garnishing a perfectly grilled porterhouse steak with potato chips.

Man up and buy a decent gauge!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 22nd March 2009
lmpreza's Avatar
lmpreza lmpreza is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Jan 2008                                                
Location: Youngstown, OH
My Saabs: 2008 9-3 Turbo X (Stage ???)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike saunders
Putting an Autometer gauge on a 2006 Saab is like garnishing a perfectly grilled porterhouse steak with potato chips.

Man up and buy a decent gauge!
Nothing wrong with autometer gauges. If you think spending $300 a gauge for defi or greddy gauges is a better choice, there's something wrong with you.
__________________
Transport:
'08 Saab 9-3 Turbo X
'03 Yamaha YZF-R6 Turbo (yes, turbocharged.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 22nd March 2009
SICKSAAB's Avatar
SICKSAAB SICKSAAB is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008                                                
Location: illnois
My Saabs: 2006 Saab 9-3 Aero
Posts: 53
Exclamation

first of all i got the gauge for free.. second of all i have a 2.8 and there is nothing after fuel press reg, and if i go by the stock boost controller , i was told it will **** with having a good const boost press! if any one could send me a pic that would be perfect!!! thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 22nd March 2009
Discreet's Avatar
Discreet Discreet is offline
SaabNut!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008                                                
Location: Houston
My Saabs: 2011 BMW 335i
Posts: 299
Default

sorry, the info i noted is meant for the 4 cyl.
__________________
My saab is gone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 22nd March 2009
SICKSAAB's Avatar
SICKSAAB SICKSAAB is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008                                                
Location: illnois
My Saabs: 2006 Saab 9-3 Aero
Posts: 53
Default

no problem, i knew that! lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 22nd March 2009
mike saunders's Avatar
mike saunders mike saunders is offline
Saabista
 
Join Date: Dec 2003                                                
Location: Boston
My Saabs: Tuned NG900, stock 99 9-5
Posts: 11,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmpreza
Nothing wrong with autometer gauges. If you think spending $300 a gauge for defi or greddy gauges is a better choice, there's something wrong with you.
Um....Right.

Autometer finally has full sweep, 270-degree gauges...only five years after GReddy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 22nd March 2009
SICKSAAB's Avatar
SICKSAAB SICKSAAB is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008                                                
Location: illnois
My Saabs: 2006 Saab 9-3 Aero
Posts: 53
Exclamation

2.8L boost guage install!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 23rd March 2009
lmpreza's Avatar
lmpreza lmpreza is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Jan 2008                                                
Location: Youngstown, OH
My Saabs: 2008 9-3 Turbo X (Stage ???)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike saunders
Um....Right.

Autometer finally has full sweep, 270-degree gauges...only five years after GReddy.
I used autometer gauges in my WRX, they were very consistant.

That's all that matters.

I don't need gauges fully digital gauges with start-up sweeping, color changing LEDs or whatever fancy crap they have. $300 a gauge is much better spent on go-fast-bits, than overpriced gauges that do they same thing the tried-and-true autometers do.

If the gauge is off by .3psi, every single time, does it really matter that it's off? Gaurantee your OEM speedometer and tachometer are about as accurate as the autometer gauges are.
__________________
Transport:
'08 Saab 9-3 Turbo X
'03 Yamaha YZF-R6 Turbo (yes, turbocharged.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 23rd March 2009
the.hatter's Avatar
the.hatter the.hatter is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008                                                
Location: IN, US
My Saabs: '04 9 2.0T, 5MT
Posts: 910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmpreza
I used autometer gauges in my WRX, they were very consistant.

That's all that matters.

I don't need gauges fully digital gauges with start-up sweeping, color changing LEDs or whatever fancy crap they have. $300 a gauge is much better spent on go-fast-bits, than overpriced gauges that do they same thing the tried-and-true autometers do.

If the gauge is off by .3psi, every single time, does it really matter that it's off? Gaurantee your OEM speedometer and tachometer are about as accurate as the autometer gauges are.
Well put.

I have an Autometer vacuum/boost gauge, I initially selected it because visually it blends well with the stock gauges:



Through miles of use, I have found that it gives consistent, accurate readings (accuracy measured by comparing it against readings by other members, so +/- a reasonable amount).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 23rd March 2009
mike saunders's Avatar
mike saunders mike saunders is offline
Saabista
 
Join Date: Dec 2003                                                
Location: Boston
My Saabs: Tuned NG900, stock 99 9-5
Posts: 11,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmpreza

I don't need gauges fully digital gauges with start-up sweeping, color changing LEDs or whatever fancy crap they have. $300 a gauge is much better spent on go-fast-bits, than overpriced gauges that do they same thing the tried-and-true autometers do.
Greddy max boost memory with warning, $200. No fancy LEDs or start-up sweeps. Just an accurate electronic gauge that records readings and offers you some overboost warning.

Probably doesn't matter much if you're unmodded, but then again, the OEM dash gauge is about as useful if you're at stock boost.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 23rd March 2009
phillyb's Avatar
phillyb phillyb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009                                                
Location: lala
Posts: 30
Default

i don't drive a saab, but i have an autometer boost gauge as well. it's fairly accurate and that's all that matters.
i know a bunch of people who run prosport gauges, but they are constantly off. not .3 psi, but about 1-2 psi. i'll take my autometer mechanical gauge please
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old 23rd March 2009
mike saunders's Avatar
mike saunders mike saunders is offline
Saabista
 
Join Date: Dec 2003                                                
Location: Boston
My Saabs: Tuned NG900, stock 99 9-5
Posts: 11,140
Default

Coolant temp and speed are apparently irrelevant.




Quote:
Originally Posted by the.hatter
Well put.

I have an Autometer vacuum/boost gauge, I initially selected it because visually it blends well with the stock gauges:



Through miles of use, I have found that it gives consistent, accurate readings (accuracy measured by comparing it against readings by other members, so +/- a reasonable amount).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old 23rd March 2009
mike saunders's Avatar
mike saunders mike saunders is offline
Saabista
 
Join Date: Dec 2003                                                
Location: Boston
My Saabs: Tuned NG900, stock 99 9-5
Posts: 11,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillyb
i know a bunch of people who run prosport gauges, but they are constantly off. not .3 psi, but about 1-2 psi.
That's understandable.

Prosports' quality is laughable. They're pretty though, and for some folks that's what matters..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #16  
Old 23rd March 2009
Road Warrior Road Warrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008                                                
Location: MA
My Saabs: '04 9-3 ARC
Posts: 128
Default

Autometer gauges are dead accurate. The boost gauge reading can read incorrectly or lag if the vacuum source is too far from the manifold. Basically the intake manifold is the best place to tie in a boost gauge. If nobody here can provide info on tying into an existing line, I suggest Googling for boost gauge installations and see what others have done. You may have to tap your own location which can be bad without removing the manifold because metal filings can get into your intake. Some people oil their drill bit to stick to the metal shavings, but that is not fail safe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #17  
Old 23rd March 2009
phillyb's Avatar
phillyb phillyb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009                                                
Location: lala
Posts: 30
Default

idk how accessible your guys's's valve is, but why not tee off the vac line on the valve?
__________________
2007 mazdaspeed3
13.97 @ 104.23
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18  
Old 23rd March 2009
the.hatter's Avatar
the.hatter the.hatter is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008                                                
Location: IN, US
My Saabs: '04 9 2.0T, 5MT
Posts: 910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike saunders
Coolant temp and speed are apparently irrelevant.
It's a sacrifice lol

It is only attached with velcro tape, so I can move it around a little. From the seated position, I lose the "Cruise" light that shows up when cruise control is turned on and the part of the speedometer from 100 mph up.

The coolant temp needle and gauge is still visible though (I DO want to be able to see that one, just in case something goes awry).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19  
Old 23rd March 2009
lmpreza's Avatar
lmpreza lmpreza is offline
Saab Crazy
 
Join Date: Jan 2008                                                
Location: Youngstown, OH
My Saabs: 2008 9-3 Turbo X (Stage ???)
Posts: 614
Default

Side note, I'm thinking of getting a set of gauges soon, Does anyone have theirs mounted on the pillar? and If so, what pillar kit fits? I know Autometer does not make a pillar replacement of kit for our cars, but a generic one or one designed for another make that would fit perhaps?
__________________
Transport:
'08 Saab 9-3 Turbo X
'03 Yamaha YZF-R6 Turbo (yes, turbocharged.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20  
Old 23rd March 2009
awjones's Avatar
awjones awjones is offline
Saab Lunatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007                                                
Location: PA
My Saabs: '07 9-3ss ARC
Posts: 2,208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.hatter
It's a sacrifice lol

From the seated position, I lose the ... part of the speedometer from 100 mph up.
thats my favorite part!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SaabCentral Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

top of page | sitemap | email us



copyright © 2003 - 2011 saabcentral.com, All rights reserved http://www.whiter.co.uk - valid xhtml - valid css
SaabCentral is an independently run website and is not affiliated in any way to Saab Automobile AB.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.