SaabCentral Forums

SaabCentral Forums (http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   NG900 & OG9-3 Performance, Mods & Tuning (http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Stock amplifier (8-pin DIN) to RCA Adapter Cable - How do I make one? (http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=124317)

fmpfilms 28th March 2008 11:37 AM

Stock amplifier (8-pin DIN) to RCA Adapter Cable - How do I make one?
 
I have an aftermarket head unit installed in my 1998 900 SE. Currently the amplifier which powers the door speakers is unconnected to my head unit because it uses an 8-pin DIN Plug.

I've seen many posts on this forum describing an adapter that can be made that converts the 8-pin DIN to two RCA Plugs for pre-amp outputs on most aftermarket head units. However, the information is scattered around the forums, and much of it is somewhat dated, so here is what I want to know.

Has anyone found a source for a premade cable that does exactly this?

If not, exactly what parts are needed to make such a cable, and where can these parts be found?

saabasaurus 28th March 2008 01:22 PM

I used an 8-pin DIN microphone from a music store and used the internal male to male connect to marry the two from my head unit to the amp.

Jeremy R. 28th March 2008 02:43 PM

You just need three parts: an 8-pin DIN plug, a stereo RCA cable, and a piece of wire a couple of feet long. All you do is chop one end of the RCA cable off, and twist the ground wires for both channels together. Solder that to the Signal Ground pin, and solder the left and right signal wires to the Front Left and Front Right pins. The piece of wire goes to the center pin, which is for the remote turn on signal. If you need a DIN plug, send me a PM. I ordered a bunch of straight and right-angle DIN plugs the last time I bought stuff from Digi-Key.

http://www.kolumbus.fi/richard.bevan...es/pre_out.GIF

snowboardin58 28th March 2008 02:52 PM

who makes the OEM head units in the 9-3 cars?

Jeremy R. 28th March 2008 03:04 PM

Clarion, same as the NG900. Strangely enough the 8-pin DIN amplifier connection seems to be a European thing. Blaupunkt used it years ago, and occasionally their cables and adapters show up on eBay.

fmpfilms 28th March 2008 05:07 PM

Hmm, I did some googling and found this:

http://audio-etcetera.com/index.php/...5d04336f346059

Could what we need be found on this page?

I'm thinking the Blaupunkt 8 Pin Female Din To Female Rca (gold) (PIE-DIN-BLAU8F), would be the best bet.

http://audio-etcetera.com/product_in...5d04336f346059

Then just get two male-male plugs from radioshack or something.

comtrang 28th March 2008 06:57 PM

www.ericsaabsite.com


Think Eric's got something on there about that. Look through the links on the upper left hand side of the main page, should be in one of those categories.

snowboardin58 28th March 2008 07:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmpfilms
Hmm, I did some googling and found this:

http://audio-etcetera.com/index.php/...5d04336f346059

Could what we need be found on this page?

I'm thinking the Blaupunkt 8 Pin Female Din To Female Rca (gold) (PIE-DIN-BLAU8F), would be the best bet.

http://audio-etcetera.com/product_in...5d04336f346059

Then just get two male-male plugs from radioshack or something.

you beat me to this post. I've posted this cable nearly every time this topic has come up, which is fairly frequently. And like i always say, I have one in my ng900, and again, is works perfectly. It even has a red 12v remote cable, but the head unit doesn't supply to this without modification, so I just chose to hook the amp to the cigarette lighter.

fmpfilms 28th March 2008 08:01 PM

Does the power problem have to do with your head unit being finicky, or is this a problem everyone will come across?

Jeremy R. 28th March 2008 08:05 PM

The power problem is apparently just with the Blaupunkt cable. If you make your own cable, the aftermarket radio can switch on the factory amp with its antenna/amp lead, just like it should.

snowboardin58 29th March 2008 01:45 AM

In that case I may have just got a bad cable, or maybe the Blaupunkt is configured different than perhaps a Pioneer or Kenwood cable.

SAABturboDRIVR 30th March 2008 02:47 PM

I have the SAAB audio upgrade too (amp + door speakers) and want to put in a new Blaupunkt headunit (current stock unit overheats when playing CDRs, AM reception is gone). I have a spare 2nd DIN cable from when I bought the SAAB audio upgrade kit. Looks like all I need to do is buy a stereo RCA cable and splice it in to the DIN cable? I've never soldered - can I just twist the wires together and cover with electrical tape? I assume I don't need to buy anything else - since I already have the SAAB DIN cable, I already have enough length to reach the amp, and can just splice the RCA onto it.

snowboardin58 30th March 2008 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAABturboDRIVR
I have the SAAB audio upgrade too (amp + door speakers) and want to put in a new Blaupunkt headunit (current stock unit overheats when playing CDRs, AM reception is gone). I have a spare 2nd DIN cable from when I bought the SAAB audio upgrade kit. Looks like all I need to do is buy a stereo RCA cable and splice it in to the DIN cable? I've never soldered - can I just twist the wires together and cover with electrical tape? I assume I don't need to buy anything else - since I already have the SAAB DIN cable, I already have enough length to reach the amp, and can just splice the RCA onto it.

correctomundo

donsebasto 4th May 2008 11:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by snowboardin58
In that case I may have just got a bad cable, or maybe the Blaupunkt is configured different than perhaps a Pioneer or Kenwood cable.

OK if I understand using the Blaupunkt cable, it won't power the amp?
Does it mean that the Pioneer or Kenwood cable works better?

Jeremy R. 5th May 2008 03:16 AM

I don't think anyone really knows. The only way to find out is to get one of those cables, and if it has a turn-on lead, see if it's connected to the center pin. That's the one that the Saab amp uses to turn itself on.

lou0611 5th May 2008 07:02 PM

Pie-din-blau8f
 
I just ordered PIE-DIN-BLAU8F and the pioneer one, I am assuming I just hook the Blue remote turn on to the the red of the cable, when it arrives I will post the outcome.

....Lou


The company just called that I ordered the cable from, it is no longer in stock or being made by this company,, bummer

sixclicks 30th August 2008 10:29 AM

I'm looking at this very issue right now wanting to add two aftermarket amps in place of the factory unit. I was reading somewhere that the remote turn on pin doesn't carry enough current to power up two amps, but the antenna power wire does.

Can anyone shed some light on how and /or where to tap into this?

Jeremy R. 30th August 2008 12:42 PM

Just put a splice onto the wire as it comes out of the plug in the back of the radio. Richard Bevan's Saab Audio Guide has the wiring diagram in the Fitting section.

sixclicks 30th August 2008 08:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Cool. So in this diagram we are talking about Pin F, for the antenna motor right?

Jeremy R. 31st August 2008 12:30 AM

That's the one! :D


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.