9000 2.0lpt fuel consumption....? [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: 9000 2.0lpt fuel consumption....?

Billyboy
23rd April 2003, 11:43 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie to the forum, and having had a quick read, I wondered if someone could tell me what sort of fuel consumption I should be expecting from a 93L 9000 2.0 lpt?

I ask because I erally struggle to get 30mpg (by the dash display - not calculated it properly), and it seems as though this might not be right reading some other posts.

The car has 140K on it, and I'm sure that it needs sorting, as it doesn't inspire confidence, or urge me to drive it quickly. Perhaps it's just a lemon - all you guys seem to love yours. The MOT is due tomorrow, and I was thinking of getting it through and getting rid (owned it for 3 months or so), but now I begin to wonder if I should start replacing bushes etc and seeing how it goes.... anyone got any opinions?

Cheers,
Joe.

BillJ
23rd April 2003, 12:27 PM
Welcome to SaabCentral, Joe. I'm assuming you're in Oxford, UK, and not somewhere in the US, so are talking imperial gallons rather than the smaller US gallons.

It very much depends on the driving, of course, and whether it is auto or manual. On my '95 2.0LPT manual, I have managed to get 35mpg by driving very carefully on a straight motorway run at 70mph. Usually I'm more likely to get about 32 on the motorway. Around town, 30 is a bit of a stretch and about 27 or 28 is average for me.

On my '96 2.0LPT auto, I've managed to get 35 on the motorway under the same circumstances, but again about 32 is more usual. My dad (who is the main driver of the car) tends to drive it on short journeys and around town a lot, where he gets something like 22-24 mpg.

Billyboy
23rd April 2003, 01:24 PM
Thanks, Bill.