SaabCentral Forums banner

Running Rich?

5K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  prionailurus 
#1 ·
Well, i think my car is running rich and the reason i say this is because sometimes i can smell fuel from the tail pipe, i have horrible gas mileage and the tailpipe is really black. What could be wrong? are these symptoms of the car running rich? another thing is my 9000 somtimes boggs down and loses power, when this happens i have to press the clutch put the car in neutral, give it a rev or 2 and then put it back into gear, it seems to work but then somtimes it does it again, i lose all power even with my foot to the floor the car does not seem to go, i was thinking maybe the engine is getting flooded by the extra fuel, idk its a guess, maybe the two are linked? any idea? please help

Thanks

#6 ·
Sorry, I am not experienced in how to check the injectors, or the Trionic system. The O2 sensor you can somewhat check with a multimeter, but if it has never been changed, or has over 60k miles, probably best just to change it anyway. The fuel pressure can be checked relatively easily, BUT, you have to have a fuel pressure gauge which you can attach and substitute for a bolt in the system (I used the one on top of the fuel filter). I wouldn't mess around with the fuel lines unless you know exactly what you're doing.

#8 ·
Most likely your coolant temperature sensor has gone bad, back of the head between # 2 and 3 cylinders NOT the sensor on the thermostat housing that just feeds the temp gauge. Bad sensor fails to tell the ECU that the engine is warmed up and can switch off the cold start enrichment program.

Another possibility is a leaking Fuel Pressure regulator at the end of the fuel rail,not as likely but this would affect the engine all the time. If the vacuum hose to the FRP cracks (leaks) the same effect will occur.

#13 ·