Newbi:Here's what I've done, any ideas for next projects? [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: Newbi:Here's what I've done, any ideas for next projects?

Roofisttu
17th February 2006, 03:45 AM
hey everyone. Well, I'm new to Saab and new to the forum. I bought my first Saab 900SE Conv in Oct and I LOVE IT!!! I have always been a VW and Audi fan, and still am, but my saab is so far, my favorite.

Anyhow, just letting you know what I have done so far to her.

SOUND: Replaced all interior speakers with metal driven rears and metal driven compenet set up front. Really, the stock radio w/ the new speakers didn't need to be "re-amped"...even with the top down.

Now, due to my car being a convertible, I had to go with a big sub in the back. I purchased a Digital Design (DD) 12" sub with dual 2ohm voice coils. My original amp was an Orion HCCA 225 Digital Reference, brought down to 1ohm and OMG, this baby was loud. However, I got really worried about the heat coming off of this amp and burning my trunk. **the amp is old school,..no power regulator. It'll do .5ohm stable and taking out a bolt will knock her down to .25ohm stable....but the heat, is literally like a stove*** Anyhow, I took her off and replaced the amp with a Orion 1200d with an equalizer/active crossover in the glove box. Yes, I like Orion amps. I had a custom box with a 1faret cap. Box volume is right at 2.25CuFt Volume. It looks really good. Future plans for the trunk is to leather it all up. Guys, this sub is LOUD!!! This ONE 12" sub reaches 142db. Monstourous...and yes, lots of sound dampering in the rear.

Exterior: painted the mirrors....a guy tried to park his car into mine so yea, I got some stuff done extra on his penny. Changed out my 15" Moda's with 17" Excel "hyper lights". Beautiful. The hyper light changes colors in the sun. Shaved rear symbols, save Saab symbols, but I AM looking for some new versions of them.