What do you think! [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: What do you think!

rez-1
17-01-03, 12:44 PM
Here's my deal. I have owned and still own a 95 Jeep wranger, 6 1/2 " of lift 35" tires blah blah, My ? i Just bought a 98 Saab 900 SE turbo. and its soooooooo much qucker than the jeep. The jeep i could barely do 65 on the highway. Now that i drive the saab every day to work (110 miles per day), I have trouble doing under 85MPH and love to get on it and cruise up to higher speeds every so often, this is a everyday thing, normally the car never goes under 80 unless on the backroads. SO.... DO you think im beating the car, can it handle the "workout" . I dont want to kill the car before i even own it for a year. its got 40k on it.
thanks

p.s. I am a safe driver and never would put others in danger...these are open highways, not travelled to much at the times i drive,

Tweek's Turbos
17-01-03, 01:34 PM
I say let 'er rip. My first 6 months I had mine I took it easy, that didn't last. 85 in 5th is still only like 4k RPMs right? Change the oil right, keep her tuned, She'll treat ya fine. The only thing I can think of is some mods to make the drive easier on the engine. Good excuse huh :cheesy:

Jeremy R.
17-01-03, 01:37 PM
Your Saab is just loafing along. Those are completely different vehicles you're comparing. The Jeep's engine is tuned for low end torque for low speed offroading and city driving while the Saab's engine is tuned for highway cruising. European cars need to be able to safely cruise at very high speeds (faster than you're going) on the autobahn. The only downside I can think of is your mileage at 85 won't be as good as it is at 65, but what's the fun in that?

rez-1
17-01-03, 01:42 PM