Upgrade to Clarion stereo, need advice for more power.... [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: Upgrade to Clarion stereo, need advice for more power....

93 9000 Aero
7th August 2002, 09:25 AM
Just bought a 93 9000 Aero with the Clarion system with CD and Alarm. Car runs good, A little hard starting but starts every time.(sounds like battery low, but it checks out fine)

I don't want to switch the stereo b/c of the alarm, but would like to ADD some power to the system or speakers, maybe a sub...

Any advice is appreciated ... Phil in Cinci, OH

93 9000 Aero
10th August 2002, 04:59 PM
put in an AMP-400 watts and 2 12" subs, soiunds great now !!!!

Gooseguy84
10th August 2002, 07:55 PM
I know i am new to saabs, but where did you mount the AMP-400 watts and 2 12" subs. Thanks

JeremyFrost
29th August 2002, 05:22 PM
I'd forget the idea of 2 12" subs unless you want your Saab to sound like something from Max Power. Go for an enclosed (& removable) 10" JL sub and you could mount a discreet amp under the boot floor. Rear speakers are fine, but think about doing something with the fronts.

30th August 2002, 03:11 AM
Just for info... I've also upgraded the stereo on mine. The rear speakers are OK; fronts I replaced with Infinity component units. Using a Kenwood 4x45W head, I've added a (real, true) 2x100WRMS amp (That's about 2x400WPMPO) under the driver's seat to drive 2x10 inch subs, mounted in the parcel shelf (via a suitable inline connector for easy removal).

I went for this option because it takes up less room in the boot than a boom box, and it also means that the net change in presssure inside the car is zero, thus reducing the tendency for it to be heard outside. Mind you, a 9000 is unlikely to sound like a Wax Tower special 'cos the bodywork is so solid by comparison. It's almost disappointing how little of the sound gets out when it's going full blast!!

JeremyFrost
31st August 2002, 05:20 PM