Upgrade to Clarion stereo, need advice for more power.... [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: Upgrade to Clarion stereo, need advice for more power....

93 9000 Aero
07-08-02, 09:25 AM
Just bought a 93 9000 Aero with the Clarion system with CD and Alarm. Car runs good, A little hard starting but starts every time.(sounds like battery low, but it checks out fine)

I don't want to switch the stereo b/c of the alarm, but would like to ADD some power to the system or speakers, maybe a sub...

Any advice is appreciated ... Phil in Cinci, OH

93 9000 Aero
10-08-02, 04:59 PM
put in an AMP-400 watts and 2 12" subs, soiunds great now !!!!

Gooseguy84
10-08-02, 07:55 PM
I know i am new to saabs, but where did you mount the AMP-400 watts and 2 12" subs. Thanks

JeremyFrost
29-08-02, 05:22 PM
I'd forget the idea of 2 12" subs unless you want your Saab to sound like something from Max Power. Go for an enclosed (& removable) 10" JL sub and you could mount a discreet amp under the boot floor. Rear speakers are fine, but think about doing something with the fronts.

30-08-02, 03:11 AM
Just for info... I've also upgraded the stereo on mine. The rear speakers are OK; fronts I replaced with Infinity component units. Using a Kenwood 4x45W head, I've added a (real, true) 2x100WRMS amp (That's about 2x400WPMPO) under the driver's seat to drive 2x10 inch subs, mounted in the parcel shelf (via a suitable inline connector for easy removal).

I went for this option because it takes up less room in the boot than a boom box, and it also means that the net change in presssure inside the car is zero, thus reducing the tendency for it to be heard outside. Mind you, a 9000 is unlikely to sound like a Wax Tower special 'cos the bodywork is so solid by comparison. It's almost disappointing how little of the sound gets out when it's going full blast!!

JeremyFrost
31-08-02, 05:20 PM
Bubbles, I didn't think that there was room for a decent sized amp under the seats - are yours electric?