Remove cat=power gain? [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: Remove cat=power gain?

elementforlife
21st April 2004, 10:17 PM
Do our C900's have restrictive cats? I'd like to remove mine, possibly add Abbott's silencer, or maybe just make it a straight pipe. What other options do I have? Will I see a performance gain?

O and I don't have to pass emissions, I'm a FL resident, and I live VA, and my car is registered in FL, so I don't have to pass emissions tests, thats not a concern.

I'm thinking silencer and BOV would sound pretty nice too, but I don't know, maybe a straight pipe would sound nicer.

Will
1987 Saab 900 Turbo T16

RallySaab=68=
21st April 2004, 11:02 PM
I took the entire exhaust system off from the cat back one day and it was loud! But very cool. I drove down the main street in my town and people thought they heard a hopped up v8 and they turn around and see my little saab chugging along... Very fun to see the surprised look on their faces.

Doing that made the engine reach the higher rpms quicker, but it was deafning and illegal. :nono; If you don't need the cat get rid of it. You could do a straight pipe all the way back with a free flowing muffler somewhere in there. That should free up the motor a bit. My NA 900 definitely seemed to rev higher and accelerate better.

stevehayes01
22nd April 2004, 01:13 AM
If you look on Ebay you can find pre made test pipes for sale that bolt right in.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&category=33633&item=2473304907&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBWA%3AIT

This ones already gone but if you watch this seller you can catch the for around $40 US. It will give you quicker spool up with less resitance and around 5 or 6 HP gain.

Jezzadee
22nd April 2004, 08:30 AM