T5 cams install [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: T5 cams install


WSW
22nd May 2012, 04:10 PM
Anyone have a DIY or tips on installing T5 cams into a t7 car (http://www.saablink.net/forum/#)?
Anything to do with timing scares me when working (http://www.saablink.net/forum/#) on a car

lms
22nd May 2012, 08:44 PM
http://www.saablink.net/forum/general-ng900-old-9-3-posts-information/15466.htm
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/39684.htm
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/40387.htm
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/9-5/index.html?bID=194160
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/NG900/index.html?bID=259090
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/NG900/index.html?bID=253953
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/performance/index.html?bID=126330
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/performance/index.html?bID=122991
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/40715.htm
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/39301.htm
http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65727&highlight=t5+cams
http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=126490

2.3LiterCivicBeater
22nd May 2012, 09:42 PM
http://www.saablink.net/forum/general-ng900-old-9-3-posts-information/15466.htm
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/39684.htm
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/40387.htm
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/9-5/index.html?bID=194160
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/NG900/index.html?bID=259090
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/NG900/index.html?bID=253953
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/performance/index.html?bID=126330
http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/bb/performance/index.html?bID=122991
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/40715.htm
http://www.saablink.net/forum/performance-modifications-ng900-old-9-3/39301.htm
http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65727&highlight=t5+cams
http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=126490


wait...do you have any info on t5 cams

bogan
23rd May 2012, 03:02 AM
Is that all you could find? :lol:

lms
23rd May 2012, 06:37 AM
When I changed mine out a few years ago I collected some posts. It's pretty easy, just make sure you are at tdc, zip tye the chain and sprockets; when removing the bolts that keep the cams in place, make sure they go back in the same place. The hardest part is the tensioner. This job will take about 2 hours being carefull with a beer or two in between. Before you put valve cover back on turn engine over by hand for piece of mind making sure the marks line up once again. Warm her up and go through some adaption runs. You will notice that some of the grunt down low will be gone, but what you get is a wider, smoother power band. The car feels like it pulls harder and longer after a certain rpm.
Oh yeah, have a new valve cover gasket in hand, I ended up using my old one cause it came off perfectly. I also sent out the cams to be resurfaced before I made the swap, that is up to you and what state the used cams are in. Do not put pitted cams in.

Pontius DIO
24th May 2012, 02:06 PM
Also, DO NOT install high mileage cams. They DO wear over time and won't provide the same level of performance as new cams. Especially if the motor they're coming from was neglected. If you have the money, buy new ones with similar/same profiles, or find a low mileage one, although these cars are typically driven and have lots of mileage. Most bone yards don't record the mileage either. If they're still in the car, see if they'll let you put a battery up to the car (assuming the key is in it) and see if you can check it's mileage. Obviously MUCH cheaper buying them used, but it's a coin toss if they'll perform correctly. If you know how, get a micrometer and check the lobes for consistency as this will help tremendously with ascertaining if they're junk or not, as well as whether it'll perform consistently with each valve. Old, high mileage springs should be replaced with new, or low mileage ones as well for the same reasons above. Good luck!

EdT
25th May 2012, 11:07 AM
Most bone yards don't record the mileage either. If they're still in the car, see if they'll let you put a battery up to the car (assuming the key is in it) and see if you can check it's mileage.

On my 900, no key is necessary. Pressing the trip reset stalk when car is off, no key, will light up the odometer for a while. I am assuming that Saab kept that functionality in other/later models.