Fitting APC To LPT. [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: Fitting APC To LPT.

Pedro23
9th May 2002, 04:24 PM
I'm going to fit an apc system to my LPT aero,and was woundering what would be the steps taken. Any help/advice would be very much appreciated.

Pedro23
11th May 2002, 05:30 PM
come on guys!! i waz adviced to retro fit an apc to my lpt,but as im not a mechanic i ain't a clue.........so come on back with your thoughts.
Thanks

Janne Selinummi
11th May 2002, 05:57 PM
There's a knock sensor fitted to the engine block, on the inlet side, that "tells" the APC when knock occurs - this sensor shouldn't be too difficult to fit.

Otherways I'm not very well informed about the parts and components the APC consists of, but you will need correct wiring, pressure hoses and solenoid valve in addition to the APC box and knock sensor.

Those in the know, please contribute!

Pedro23
11th May 2002, 06:44 PM
Blimming eck! that sounds abit of a job dunna it.i assumed that this conversion was easy to do .I will await a more knowledgable
reply.
thanks very much Janna,very helpful..cheers!

Fred
12th May 2002, 04:24 AM
This is the how to do it instructions for a Volvo ( I thought John W had posted this already) Lots of wires, but nothing invasive.
http://www.users.qwest.net/~qed/volvoapc/index.html

Pedro23
13th May 2002, 10:59 AM
cheers fred,exellent site you recommended,u da man,thanks very much.
all i need now is an apc system..

Fred
13th May 2002, 12:13 PM
I don't know how you're fixed for garage space, but I'd buy an MOT fail (or one with duff gearbox) with APC. That way you've got time to strip out the apc and all the little bits you didn't know you needed. You also know if it worked before you put it on your car. You could also get one with an intercooler - which is easier to fit than the APC (if you have the right radiator bottom hose).
http://www.saabnet.com/sites/8vintercool/

Pedro23
15th May 2002, 06:32 AM