Yoda [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: Yoda

one more
18-04-11, 05:25 AM
ok so I decided to set up a project thread.

Mostly because
I'm still learning and have lots of Questions and I
Like the idea of having everything in one place,
I also like the idea of seeing my car progress and what better way to reflect learn and enjoy than on a thread dedicated to my saab and my stuff ups ;)
So I will shortly put some more photos and stories on what has happened so far, what mods Iv'e done and my plans for the future ;)

one more
06-06-11, 08:52 PM
A few weeks ago on a trip to Melbourne my car got incredible shakes thought it was wheel balanced and had the wheels rebalanced, problem went away, but has since returned, thought weights had come off switched tyres, car didn’t shake for a while, but has returned since.

I have now realized it is an intermittent problem.

Symptoms

When this happens!!
Car starts noticeably shaking at 80kms per hour gets to the point where the passenger seat shakes as does the bonnet from side to side, it’s not Vibration it’s a fast shake but does increase with car speed.
It shakes when maintaining a speed tends to stop when accelerating or de-accelerating, disengaging clutch makes no difference.
Can’t tell which side it comes from, can feel it through the seat, the pedal can see the bonnet and passenger seat shake, can even on occasion hear the rear muffler bang against car. EVERYTHING SHAKES. This can continue for 100’s of K’s
Yet sometimes it can be fine for 200k’s or more.
Have checked underneath nothing notably loose shockers are good.
Assuming it must be a driveshaft somehow flopping to one side and creating a massive imbalance but doesn’t seem to be anything wrong drive shafts don’t clunk around corners, I know of someone who had the rollers in two of the three bearing in the driveshaft missing it only clunked around corners. So it seems hard to imagine why mine is doing this.

Perhaps driveshafts?