9-5 questions [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: 9-5 questions

9-5 Bill
03-01-04, 11:54 PM
Hey, everyone, this is an awsome site. i just bought a '99 9-5 with the 2.3L engine. im going to pick it up from the dealer in a few days, and i have a few quick questions since im new to saab ownership.

i have been reading other posts, and i see "lpt" engines. is this a special version of th 2.3?

also, ive read that the boost gauge doesnt read boost pressure on the saabs, so what does it actually measure?

what does sport mode actually do?

and finally, what does winter mode do?

thanks for the input!! i look forward to driving this great car and experiencing what it is all about!

murphwiz
04-01-04, 12:06 PM
LPT is light pressue turbo, all units in the 9-5 apart from the Aero are LPT's.

The boost gauge is something along the lines of a 'torque request meter'

Sport mode, shortens effective throttle travel, making the car feel more responsive, performance is the same.

Winter mode, starts the car in 3rd gear.

JCarpio
04-01-04, 12:09 PM
Welcome to SaabCentral ...9-5 Bill...

Here's a quote for LPT (Light Pressure Turbo):

Saab LPT 2.3L 1-4

Spending considerable time with Saab Automobile AB's Light-Pressure Turbo (LPT) 2.3L inline 4-cyl. leaves the Best Engines judges with immense respect for the engineering conviction Saab lavishes on its powertrains. Who would have thought dialing-back the boost pressure in a turbocharged engine would have such fulfilling results?

The engine wizards at Saab obviously knew what they were doing with the LPT: one hardly misses the turbo blast of Saab's full-pressure engines when they come on boost. Instead, the LPT serves up a linear dollop of energy enhancement meant to mimic the power delivery of a larger, normally aspirated engine. It works.

"So smooth, so creamy," writes a Best Engines editor. "This (the 9000 CS model) is a large car -- it accelerates in a way that makes it difficult to believe there's only a 4-cyl. engine out there."