SaabCentral Forums banner

04 9-5 Front Control Arm Bush Upgrade

7K views 11 replies 4 participants last post by  5XSaabOwner 
#1 · (Edited)
I recently purchased an 04 9-5 Linear Wagon with 83K miles for a song. The ride was comfortable, but soft; steering input was slow. It had new tires, so I focused on suspension parts.

I came across Dmitry's excellent tutorials (www.platonoff.com) and purchased the same high performance poly bushes he uses. As I am not a mechanic I had to pay others. Labor is tres expensive these days.

As she is my daily driver (and the polys not a quick drop in replacement) I purchased a new pair of OEM Front Control Arm Bushes (just the big ones that go on the rear). My mechanic installed the new ones so I could work on getting the bushes pressed out of the old ones: his hydraulic press was messed up. (See my ad they are now for sale). The new OEMs did little to improve handling, and the suspension still squeaked- probably the front bushes.

Total cost for two new OEM bushes was $200, plus labor, and I had to get an alignment ($70), plus the performance bushes. Some friends had the tools to remove the old bushes. The install included the new small front bushes, plus the large rear bushes, plus realignment ($371). All told I have about $700 invested.

WAS IT WORTH IT?

I am amazed at the immediacy of steering input and how it holds a tight line entering/exiting an interstate ramp. Also how quickly it responds to lane changes.

When you factor in that it needed bush replacement anyway, the difference in cost is well worth the investment.

OTHER UPGRADES

I replaced the air filter with a K&N. Yes I can feel the difference.

Brake pads were new, but not OEM. I replaced with ceramic, which work great, but still create a lot of dust.