SaabCentral Forums banner

Idle sputtering and oil lamp

1K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  yaofeng 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, and thanks for reading this post by a newbie. I'll keep it as concise as I can, but I'm aware it may wander into the TL;DR category.

Some notes before I begin:
1. I DID read the "idle problems" posts stickied here, but they were either not describing my problem, or I simply didn't understand them (more on this later).
2. I'm not mechanically-oriented; in fact, I have a knack for making things worse. Further, I'm new to the scene and I don't understand many of the abbreviations used. Last but not least, my native tongue is Turkish and I will have to relate any recommendations here to my mechanic in a mechanically-intelligible Turkish, which makes things a bit harder.
3. Finally, I'm not that knowledgeable about the names of parts or Brit vs. US terminology, so I'll try being clear about them.

Here's the problem: I own a 1997 9000 CSE 2.0 LPT with approx. 165K miles on it. Starting last month, I noticed that the oil lamp comes on when the engine is at normal temp., and only at idle. We cleaned the oil pan (sump, whatever);it did have sludge and little parts belonging to the timing chain rails (they made noise before, when the engine was cold, but had grown silent since a while; I guess this is why). We replaced the oil press. sensor. Nothing has changed. The lamp begins to illuminate (blink) when the engine is growing warmer at idle, especially when the fan comes on, and after it has reached full operating temp. it stays permanently lit. Increasing the RPM to only slightly above idle (approx. 925-950 RPM) clears the issue. Do note that the oil pump was taken out and cleaned, but it has streaks and scratches on it. There is significant oil leakage from god knows where in the engine, although lack of oil is not an issue. The head gasket and cam cover gasket were replaced some time ago.