SaabCentral Forums banner

Brake Lights Not working, ECU? ABS?

6K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  yaofeng 
#1 ·
Ok i'm totally new to the Saab club, Before I was a die hard rotary man with years of RX7 history, modifications and engine rebuilds :confused: But the Saab offers 4 seats, lots of torque and less frequent trips to the petrol station.

But I bought a banger of a 1990 Saab 9000 Carlsson, which I'm trying to first get road worthy then slowly bring it back to its former glory.

the biggest problem I face is no brake lights:( , checked all the stupid stuff already, then checked switch and wiring to the the back, all of which ws fine. Therefore I'm worried its the ECU or ABS computor if it has such a thing. I believe that with ABS it takes a signal from the brake pedal to know when braking is occuring.

To be honest I'm shooting in the dark, I dont have a clue!! If it was a RX7 I'd have the ABS fully removed by now anyway:D (it was no good for drifting)

#3 ·
Yeah I have checked the bulbs, I've had the switch out and checked it. Also Car has been to an auto-electrican who cant figure it out.

Obvoiusly not a good situation, I'm thinking of just wiring up the lights to work off the switch. Very worried that doing this puts the ABS out the loop but the hydraulic module (ABS pump) is still fitted.

All the other stuff wrong with the car is easy fix, but this has me head scratching.

#4 · (Edited)
The ABS computer will have no impact upon the brake lights working or not working in a Saab 9000. If this was the case they would not work if the car was off (key off) and the brake pedal was depressed.

Have you checked the lamp filament monitor on the main relay panel underneath the dash? Have you double checked the all of the fuses for the brake and tail lights? Have all the grounds (earthing points) for the brake and tail lights been checked? Have you tried to bypass the switch - jumper it to see if the brake lights light up then?