SaabCentral Forums banner

New 9000 owner - or will be tomorrow..

848 views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  SAAB kid 
#1 ·
Afternoon, All..

Having never driven one, but harked after one for a while i've finally jumped into Saab ownership - a '92 9000 2.0 CS Turbo Auto with a mere (!) 230k on the clock. Probably not the best one around (not at what i'm paying for it), but figured if i like it, then look around for a better one in a while.

I've no knowledge of the cars (although damned handy with the rest of my fleet) so don't know where to start, what to look for or anything! Don't even know what breed of turbo it is (there seem to be a few variants)!

Any quirks/immediate maintenance i'd need to do?

#2 ·
Welcome to the club. I bought mine in November or so. Things to look at are any leaks, noisy timing chains, check everything electrical before you buy it.

Since you are handy you will get alot of help from this site and others. Never dispair. If you buy this thing remember you have bought a fine but sometimes fickle automobile. Better style and ride then a similarly aged BMW, fantastic performance potential from that little 2.0 turbo (little is relative, the 2.0 would just scream in a honda civic, they are alot lighter. Saabs are better build, much safer and heavier) and they are just flat wonderful to drive at all distances.

When I bought mine it was a rolling wreck, been in the sun sitting for years and has needed an enormous amount of work but is so comfortable it is amazing. My 90 Saab 9000S Non Turbo 2.3 is more comfortable than my wifes expensive, leather seated '03 Mazda Tribute and has fewer rattles in an almost 20 year old car. Please look for the sticky's and read them about buying a used Saab before you plunk down the money, may save you some serious coin.