16 or 17 inch wheels for snow tires [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: 16 or 17 inch wheels for snow tires

adamthegreek
13th October 2008, 11:05 AM
According to the owners manual you can use both size snow tires on my 07 Aero. I am trying to find a set of used Saab wheels instead of going with 16" steel. I searched and it looks the like wheel offset is the same on all 93 and 95s regardless of the year.

I realize that the 16" would have a narrower tire and be better in deep snow but we don't' get that much deep snow in MA so I don't now if its worth sacrificing the handling on all the dry days. I plan to run Nokian WRs. I realize that the 16" tires would be cheaper.

This will be the first winter with a Saab so I have no experience with the handling in snow but assume the stock P6s (junk) will be even worse in the snow.
Any thoughts would be apreciated.

jydg21
13th October 2008, 11:11 AM
i would stick with what ever rim size you have on and just wrap them in a nice set of rubber

VTwagon
13th October 2008, 11:47 AM
I just got an '03 aero and stock Saab 16" wheels with snows. I did this for several reasons.

1)Up here in vermont we get alot of potholes due to freeze thaw and the 17's bend alot quicker than 16's since there is less meat there, and if they do bent they are cheaper to replace.

2)Snows are alot cheaper for 16's

3)You save money everytime you don't have to have them swiched and balanced

4)Everytime you have them mounted you run the risk of a tire monkey scratching your nice 17" wheels

5)Narrower tires are better in the winter. You want less surface area.

Wulf
14th October 2008, 11:32 AM
I am trying to figure out the same thing. 16" wheels will have a more comfortable ride but 17" will handle better. Everybody always says narrower tires are better for winter but does a 2 or 3 cm width difference (235 vs 215 --> 20/235 = 8.5%) really gets you through deep snow much better? I wonder if there have been any tests proving this theory.