Off-the-line response... [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: Off-the-line response...

Lucky
21-07-03, 04:55 PM
I've been enjoying my '00 9-5 LPT for a couple of months now. Great car, I really enjoy how it rides, handles, and accelerates (at least in the 30+ mph range).

What I've found lacking is off-the-line response. In my daily commute I have a problem at an intersection where I have a stop sign and the cross-traffic does not. The 1 to 2 second turbo spool up, means I need a pretty large hole in the cross traffic to safely cross two lanes and join the traffic going the direction I need.

How can I speed up throttle response with minimal impact on warranty, gas mileage, and wallet?

-- John
'00 9-5 LPT
'01 V70 T5
'86 911 Carrera

murphwiz
21-07-03, 05:22 PM
Hmmm turbo lag in an lpt..
Never had that! :o

Is it an auto, if so use sport, if its manual, practise the technique of good launch with a tiny wheelspin, this always seems best.

Also bear in mind torque is limited in first anyway.

GenSaab
21-07-03, 05:57 PM
Try this,

1) Premium Fuel (always a good idea)
2) Have the delaer re-flash the T7 to the newest program. This will help some for this problem and more for others. If it is still under saab warranty it should be free.
3) Proper spark plugs NGK BCPR6ES-11
4) Air filter. A high flow reusable unit like the French made JR will make a noticeable difference. Filter Link (http://www.genuinesaab.com/detail.asp?product_id=JRSportfilter)

IF this does not help we can go further but you should contact us directly. Just remember the car is a complex sytem. Everything works together.

Nick Taliaferro
SAABCENTRAL Sponsor
GenuineSaab.com USA[/url]

Lucky
22-07-03, 10:58 AM
Murph, it is an auto... I do use sport mode sometimes, but that doesn't seem to improve turbo spool up from a standstill.