T5'ed c900 heavily modified [Archive] - SaabCentral Forums

: T5'ed c900 heavily modified

Pages : [1] 2 3

Turbofrenzy
23rd January 2008, 02:58 PM
Well here we go.
This my first post, so I'll give you some history.
I am an ex Saab Master Technician (16 years main dealer experience 1985-2001) , who now lives in the middle of France and works with a small fleet of hire boats.
I've always had a passion for the 900 T16, so bought a cheap example 2 years ago 1990 ABS, Air Con, Aero kit with 326,000 kilometres on the clock, the engine had a slight knock and the pinion bearing were noisey, headlining adrift, some scratches on the paintwork, minor dents on the bootlid, but no major rust................
Last February (2007) I removed the engine and gearbox (please note I have none of the special tools required), stripped the engine, replaced the timing chain, oil pump, big end and main bearing shells. I stripped the gearbox and replaced the pinion bearings (I did have to go to my local agricultual garage, he pressed the old bearings off), whilst doing the above bearings I found the layshaft had a load of broken teeth S***, luckily enough I had another gearbox which my good friend SaabMatt gave me when I was over on holiday, the geargox ofcourse WASN'T the same, but however after alot of head scratching, I used the following:-
My gearbox casing with pinion shaft and new bearings
Layshaft from the other gearbox
My gearset except 2nd, my syncro's and bulkrings
2nd gear from other gearbox
My selectors 1 which I had to straighten
with new seal and gasket kit
All nicely mounted on engine, at this point I had sourced a 2.3 long head , which I duely ported, cut back valve guides and matched to the gasket and 2.1 injection inlet manifold, this all fitted a treat to the engine with T16 cams and injection rail, the only slight mods were to the air con compressor mounting and some spacers under the fuel rail mountings.