SaabCentral Forums banner

Vibration in front end

2K views 25 replies 11 participants last post by  IanT54 
#1 ·
I'm a newbie to this forum, but i'd like to get some feedback about a frustrating vibration in the front of my '97 900SE Talladega. When going straight, there is a moderate, intermittent vibration at any speed higher than @30 mph. If I turn slightly to the right, or slightly to the left, the vibration goes away. I've replaced the control arms, radius arms, axle shafts, tie rods and tie rod ends, balanced the tires (3x), and replaced the rubber bushing on the steering rack with a urethane bushing from Powerflex. Each repair has improved the vibration, yet none has eliminated it. Any other ideas??

#2 ·
Ball joints ?

Wild guess, all else seems to be new ...and my joints were bad, yet zero vibration..
I'd more strongly suspect the inner drivers - try repacking them.. Are they loose ??
Also check the wheel bearings.

#3 ·
I forgot to mention that the driver's side inner driver was replaced when the axle shafts were done; the passenger side inner driver was in good shape and not replaced. The ball joints are part of the control arms, and thus new with the new control arms.

#4 ·
Wheel bearings - I'm desperate ..

We have a new car here - front end wise...

Strut rubber and the bearings and hydraulics ?

Try coasting at 70mph, note the vibration change, if any - you will need the road to yourself for a time..

Then do some mild wheel yanks to the left, then the right..does the vibration change ?

#5 ·
As you suggested, I tried coasting at 70mph, but no change in the vibration. Mild turns of the wheel left and right stop the vibration, but on/off throttle has no effect on it. Since one of the greatest improvements I noted came from the Powerflex urethane rack mount bushing, I'm thinking of trying the solid rack mount made by Talliaferro to see if eliminating ALL of the rack movement will solve the problem.

#11 ·
VB2NC said: