SaabCentral Forums banner

99 Saab 93 SE buzzing noise from dash ONLY at certain speeds

2K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  CPoff 
#1 ·
First post here. Ill give you guys some background info...

Im a student, and as such do not have much money to fix my car (great thing I own a Saab in Canada, right? :confused: ). I searched the forum and although there are some posts similar to my issue, none of them are what Im dealing with.

To start off, my car was hit-and-ran about 4 months ago and it was dented in the driver side front quarter panel infront of the tire, knocked the bumper half off (its basically bungied on now) destroyed the signal light, and destroyed the fog light (only on the driver side, passenger side is fine). Also, the bottom plastic skid plate is gone as well... The only thing I noticed right away, other then the damage, was that my left turn signal clicked about twice as fast (Im assuming because of a short due to the light itself missing).

Anyways, mechanically EVERYTHING was fine, headlight wiper on that side still worked etc. Now I dont know if the buzz started then, but I remember noticing it about two months ago. What happens is when I get to certain speeds in each gear, there is a buzzing noise coming from what seems like behind the center console, moreso behind the radio deck.

1st gear it starts at about 20, 2nd gear at 40, third gear at around 65 (KMPH). So when I shift up, it stops until I get to whatever speed in the next gear sets it off. Now to make things worse, Im starting to get more electrical problems. The first is the passenger side headlight, that was around a month ago. The brights still work on that light, just not the driving light (I have been busy with exams so I havent been able to just buy a new bulb to see if that fixes it).